We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view of Osoyoos and the Milky Way!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osoyoos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Observatory Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 17 Osoyoos B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Well if you're an amateur Astronomer no introduction is needed to the owners of this B&B, Mr 'Supernova hunter' Jack Newton, and his wife Alice. A custom built home/B&B/Observatory high on the hills with a jaw dropping view of Osoyoos and the lake.The rooms are very well equipped, comfortable, and thankfully air conditioned given the desert location. The amount of astronomy related household objects is amazing, even right down to the light switch covers! Jack and Alice welcome you as family and have breakfast with you in the morning. In the evening (and morning as well) Jack takes you up into his observatory for viewing sessions both on his large scope and his solar scope (for viewing the sun). Aimed mainly at beginners the sessions are a great introduction to the night sky, which is stunning in this dark desert location. The B&B rooms are on the lower floor with a shared veranda and BBQ. Overall a great stay, location, and experience.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stressedtechie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 87 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with a sitting room & kitchenette, lots of room for our family of 4. Very quiet, although the other rooms were full we didn't hear them. Stepping out of the room onto the patio there is the stunning view of the whole lake & town, with the added bonus of a cooling breeze. In the evening Jack took us on a tour of the sky with his telescopes & interesting talk - even our 8 & 11 year olds were fascinated. My geeky hubby thought he'd died & gone to heaven! Next morning, after a nice communal breakfast we saw stars in daylight too. Alice made sure the kids felt very welcome (my son wanted to adopt Jack & Alice as an extra set of grandparents!) This b&b has the best of both worlds - peace, quiet & views but only a few minutes drive into town.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leedslass89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This is a real and special treat. Jack provides fantastic tours of the skies through the large, computer-controlled telescope in his domed observatory both evenings and mornings. His enthusiasm is infectious and his knowledge of astronomy is encyclopedic. Alice's breakfasts are healthy and delicious. And both Jack and Alice are warm and accommodating hosts. Our room was clean and serviceable, well provided with amenities for every occasion. The view from the balcony overlooking Osoyoos was breathtaking, especially in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WotanJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Alice & Jack Newton have created a wonderfully unique astrological B&B experience high above and overlooking Osoyoos, British Columbia. Alice thought of every detail to make our stay comfortable and relaxing while Jack gave us the opportunity to view Saturn, Mars and Pluto, stars and the most incredible views of the moon and sun flairs with his telescopes that we will never forget. Add in a beautifully presented breakfast with animated discussion all around and it's a recipe for "must return".

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are well appointed, comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawne_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Where do you start with this B&B. Fantastic location, high on hill side overlooking the town of Osoyoos and the valley below. Accommodation superb, our room had a lovely view of the valley and for anybody wanting a bit of TV in the evenings there was a 57" HD TV in the room adjoining the bedroom. Hosts Jack and Alice are lovely people with breakfasts taken upstairs in their dining room/lounge. This room has to be seen to be believed, absolutely wonderful. The B&B has its own Observatory and Jack, who must be one of the leading Astronomers in the world, gives you the benefit of his obvious enthusiastic knowledge of the solar system in both the Observatory and his own theatre. My wife and I are not amateur astronomers but this did not matter and all I can say is we had a wonderful trip through BC and Alberta including visiting the Rockies but this stay was the highlight for me. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Five of us touring through the Okanagan started our trip with a 2-night stay at the Observatory B&B. The B&B has a dramatic location high up on the hillside overlooking the town of Osoyoos. There are three suites, one of which (Saturn) was already occupied. 3 of us shared the Eclipse suite which has two bedrooms, bathroom and a living area complete with basic cooking facilities and the other two had the Moon room with ensuite bathroom. The three suites are all very well appointed and open out onto a patio area with panoramic views out over the town and Osoyoos lake.

Jack and Alice Newton are delightful hosts. From what we could tell, Alice runs the B&B while Jack wows their guests with his vast knowledge of astronomy. Breakfast is taken upstairs around a table in their private living space. Jack and Alice join their guests for breakfast which we thought was a lovely touch. The breakfasts are substantial: juice, tea or coffee, eggs, freshly baked muffins and fruit.

For most people the highlight of staying at this B&B has to be the opportunity to go into Jack's observatory and take a turn looking through his telescope both by night and day. Our first evening there, the sky was very smoky because of all the forest fires. On this type of evening, guests are escorted into Jack's fabulously equipped home theatre and treated to a great visual presentation of the universe with informed commentary on everything being shown. What makes a stay here so special is Jack's wealth of astronomical knowledge and his obvious pleasure in sharing it with others. Our second night and on both mornings, the sky was clear enough for us to do some serious viewing through the telescope. What memories we have been able to take away!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nacnud88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

The Observatory Bed & Breakfast sits atop Anarchist Mountain overlooking Osoyoos , BC. The view is just breathtaking. My wife and I shared the Eclipse room (two room suite) with our adult son. The suite was pleasant and comfortable, and included a nearly full kitchen (no oven) and a wide screen HDTV. Free internet. It is a short drive from Osoyoos, a really charming town in the heart of BC's wine country. The main attraction at the B&B is the astronomy tour conducted each night from the observatory by the world renown astro-photographer Jack Newton. For a small fee, you can have a two hour tutorial, in which Jack guides you through the steps required for taking astro-images through a telescope. There is a home-theater presentation on cloudy nights. Breakfast is elegant, meat-free, and delicious featuring the local fruit and some of Alice's tasty creations. The setting is magnificent - through the large windows is a view that is so beautiful as to not seem real. There is an after-breakfast opportunity to view some stars and planets in the daytime, including fantastic views of our own star through a solar telescope. Jack and Alice are gracious hosts and just wonderful people. We spent four nights - wish we could have spent forty! The ground drops away steeply just beyond the patios, so I wouldn't recommend the place to those traveling with young children or pets.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VBStarman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
2.3 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
3.0 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Desert Oasis Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,249 reviews
2.6 mi away
Desert Surfside Waterfront Accomodations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Observatory Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Observatory Bed & Breakfast

Address: # 3 Observatory Road | 1270 Hwy 3 East, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Osoyoos
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing