We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Instant Picnic”

The Lake Village Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Instant Picnic”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Their cheese-and-black-olive Pain d'Epi (Bread in the shape of a wheat stalk, from which you can break off individual "rolls") is fun and delicious. Grab a couple of containers of Canadian goat cheese from their cooler case, score a bottle of local wine, and you have an instant picnic.

Oh yeah - and for dessert, don't miss their butter tarts. With raisins. Pure ambrosia.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Modine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    24
    0
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Cinnamon Rolls Ever!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I am a baker so I know exceptional baked goods. Everything we had at the Lake Village Bakery was incredible. Very friendly staff and delicious baked items. A must when visiting Osoyoos.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn4407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“FANTASTC”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This place is the best. We got something everyday. Organic ingredients whats not to like. Everything they make is excellent.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 61abikeisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great bakery in Osoyoos”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Love the smell of a bakery when you walk into it and this has it all! With good variety in baked goods at reasonable prices.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank vanha10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not a Restaurant and not that good a bakery”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We read the reviews on here and this is shown as the number 1 restaurant in Osoyoos and yet it doesn't serve meals!
So I base my review on it as a bakery and even this wasn't brilliant. We had croissants and cinnamon buns and they were all heavy and not the best I have tasted by a long way.
Won't be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShanPel, Owner at The Lake Village Bakery, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for visiting us at the bakery. We are sorry you did not have a delicious experience with us.
We are glad you mentioned we are not a restaurant, this brought our attention to us being listed as such and decided to manage our listing on Trip Adviser. We did not list our Bakery as a restaurant, it just fell into that category.
We are sorry you did not enjoy our sourdough croissants and cinnamon buns, they are not the usual pastries as they are made with sourdough. A lot of places now buy pre-made unbaked croissants and bake them on site. This product tends to have lots of yeast and there fore very fluffy and flaky. Ours is not, it's made over 3 days time, all hand shaped.
We hope you will give us a second chance and visit us again next time you are in town.
Thank you,
The Lake Village Bakery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lake Village Bakery also viewed

Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to The Lake Village Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing