We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, if a bit old fashioned” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sun Beach Motel
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, if a bit old fashioned”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

Right on its own private beach (with huge fish to spot), this was a great place to stay. It looks like a bit of a throw-back from a few decades ago in decor and architecture, but that adds to a slightly kitsch charm.

We had a really good room, right on the beach with a deck and rocking chair, to watch the sunset over the lake. Kids had great fun staying here.

Well worth staying at - for good old fashioned hospitality from the owner and basic charm.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John87878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    5
    9
    12
See reviews for
18
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

The young boys had loads of fun trying to catch the fishes right on the private beach. So close yet tough to catch! So cool to see the fishes in the morning when the water was clear.
We enjoyed the our dinner/breakfast on the patio deck facing Osoyoos lake and the view of the mountains, also we could stroll to the waterfront park nearby in the evenings. The two nights we stayed the rooms and beds were comfortable. The kitchens stove were a bit too small as well as the pots and pans but we managed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Been staying there for years. In reality it is the only south facing hotel in osoyoos. All the others face north away from
the sin and into the prevailing winds (other than the safari which faces east).

We spend most of the time on our boat or on the patio. Beachfront is repective to water levels which are higher early inthe season. Lots of shade and sun depending on what you like. Parties are
not the
norm. Sandra (the friendly owner) lives next door on the lake and would herself be annoyed at late night parties so try are notthe norm (certainly no music). Maybe be the odd group who stay up later chatting.

Locals are actually very friendly. We used a local waterski/wake board school who were very helpful teaching us to wakesurf and improving wakeboarding. They also are very knowledgeable about the town for your interests. I think they have a website and are called "above the board". Actually it was the motel who put us on to the service.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahurtinalbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed in one of the suites facing the lake during the Canada Day long weekend and had a great time. Management had a free BBQ dinner on the patio which included free wine and beer. It is a short walk to the shopping centre and we sat on the beach and watched the fireworks. Our suite had a full kitchen, bedroom and living room with an extra bed and hide-a-bed so you could sleep 6 if necessary. Staff were very friendly and helpful and since it was part of our honeymoon, the privacy was good for the rooms at the back facing the lake, which I recommend. You have a private little beach and dock as well. The fruit orchards and vineyards are only minutes away. Good value here! Richard from Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricard013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

We booked here for a little getaway for the family for three days. I read some of the reviews after and wrote an e-mail to the Motel owner voicing my concerns and she was very nice and assured me that it was not bad like people were suggesting. We decided to go ahead and keep the reservations and give them a chance. I am so glad we did, we had a fabulous time. The room we had was called a sleeper room, it was small but suited our needs. The room was very clean with fresh linens and towels every day, it was air conditioned and overlooked the lake. A few steps down and you were on a huge patio area where you are welcome to use the bbq facilities or lounge in one of the deck chairs. Just down from that is a little bit of a beach right off the lake, my kids enjoyed themselves by jumping off the dock into the water. The owner is a friendly lady named Sandra who was there whenever we needed anything. It was quiet and we made the best of the short time we had there. Sandra showed us around to the renovated suites that she had completed, for an older motel these rooms are top notch and we will stay there next year again, this time for the whole week!! I suggest before you listen to any of these reviews, you judge for yourself, you never know if you are giving up a little piece of paradise!!

Thanks to Sandra for making our time very enjoyable!! See you next year too Sue!!

J, K, L & J

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank friendlytravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hope
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2008

Me and a friend stayed two nights for a funeral and I didn't see a problem with the place, nice deck, dock, and friendly management.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zonanHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powell river
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

We booked our trip ahead of time thinking we were getting a good deal on the water. Just a thought. The hotel is very run down and old but hey, we thought this was okay since we were right on the water. The partying starts at 3:00 afternoon and goes until 3:00 am. Now if you don't have kids this might be okay, but we had two small kids. The noise is unavoidable. It doesn't matter which room you will stay. Partying all night long including the staff. How nice!! I guess complaints would have to wait. I felt like I was in the worst part of town. This hotel is not nice especially after my expensive sunglasses disappeared frommy room, and when I complained, the owner got back to me 1 month later withan apology. That is all I got was an apology, but even if she would have offered free nights I would never go there again. I would rather pay double and stay somewhere more pleasant.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank candy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Osoyoos hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
0.5 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
0.8 mi away
Destiny Beach Resort
Destiny Beach Resort
#24 of 26 in Osoyoos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakeview Motel & Suites
Lakeview Motel & Suites
#8 of 26 in Osoyoos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Beach Motel

Property: Sun Beach Motel
Address: 7303 Main St, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sun Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing