We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money on this dump!”
Review of Sun Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sun Beach Motel
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money on this dump!”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I recently stayed here with my entire family in five different rooms spread out over the property. All if the rooms were dirty and had something wrong with them - from broken air conditioning that the staff would not fix to clogged drains with the previous occupants hair. We also had a major spider infestation. It was so bad that we actually had to go out and buy spray to kill all of them in our room and area. The staff told us to "deal with it" as "it's the desert". Everything was very dirty around the motel. If you are going to pay the money like we did $225 a night with tax, you are better off going down the street to the Spirit Ridge or even the Sahara Courtyard!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JN403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joyharbidge, Owner at Sun Beach Motel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Very sorry that you feel this way, I wish you had come to the office and you and all your family could go somewhere you would have been happier at. I would have released you from your bookings. The spider problem can be handled with sprays if we were made aware of it. Some people do not want spray in the rooms due to alergies or small children. Some of your family booked and knew they had the last rooms available and they were not the new rooms and then , asked for new ones. We also had family members that had vents open and fans running on air conditioner's . We in turn closed and then had air operating in those rooms.
We do try to make holidays happy one's, as I know some of you over the years , I do feel , some of these problems could have been handled right at the front office and corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    5
    9
    12
See reviews for
18
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2010

The Sun Beach Motel is in a great location! Love the quiet, private beach. Sandra, the owner is super nice and very accommodating! The rooms are clean, modern and perfect! Very reasonable rates. I was there for a week and want to stay for another.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annhorvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Right on its own private beach (with huge fish to spot), this was a great place to stay. It looks like a bit of a throw-back from a few decades ago in decor and architecture, but that adds to a slightly kitsch charm.

We had a really good room, right on the beach with a deck and rocking chair, to watch the sunset over the lake. Kids had great fun staying here.

Well worth staying at - for good old fashioned hospitality from the owner and basic charm.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John87878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The young boys had loads of fun trying to catch the fishes right on the private beach. So close yet tough to catch! So cool to see the fishes in the morning when the water was clear.
We enjoyed the our dinner/breakfast on the patio deck facing Osoyoos lake and the view of the mountains, also we could stroll to the waterfront park nearby in the evenings. The two nights we stayed the rooms and beds were comfortable. The kitchens stove were a bit too small as well as the pots and pans but we managed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Been staying there for years. In reality it is the only south facing hotel in osoyoos. All the others face north away from
the sin and into the prevailing winds (other than the safari which faces east).

We spend most of the time on our boat or on the patio. Beachfront is repective to water levels which are higher early inthe season. Lots of shade and sun depending on what you like. Parties are
not the
norm. Sandra (the friendly owner) lives next door on the lake and would herself be annoyed at late night parties so try are notthe norm (certainly no music). Maybe be the odd group who stay up later chatting.

Locals are actually very friendly. We used a local waterski/wake board school who were very helpful teaching us to wakesurf and improving wakeboarding. They also are very knowledgeable about the town for your interests. I think they have a website and are called "above the board". Actually it was the motel who put us on to the service.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahurtinalbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed in one of the suites facing the lake during the Canada Day long weekend and had a great time. Management had a free BBQ dinner on the patio which included free wine and beer. It is a short walk to the shopping centre and we sat on the beach and watched the fireworks. Our suite had a full kitchen, bedroom and living room with an extra bed and hide-a-bed so you could sleep 6 if necessary. Staff were very friendly and helpful and since it was part of our honeymoon, the privacy was good for the rooms at the back facing the lake, which I recommend. You have a private little beach and dock as well. The fruit orchards and vineyards are only minutes away. Good value here! Richard from Vancouver.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricard013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We booked here for a little getaway for the family for three days. I read some of the reviews after and wrote an e-mail to the Motel owner voicing my concerns and she was very nice and assured me that it was not bad like people were suggesting. We decided to go ahead and keep the reservations and give them a chance. I am so glad we did, we had a fabulous time. The room we had was called a sleeper room, it was small but suited our needs. The room was very clean with fresh linens and towels every day, it was air conditioned and overlooked the lake. A few steps down and you were on a huge patio area where you are welcome to use the bbq facilities or lounge in one of the deck chairs. Just down from that is a little bit of a beach right off the lake, my kids enjoyed themselves by jumping off the dock into the water. The owner is a friendly lady named Sandra who was there whenever we needed anything. It was quiet and we made the best of the short time we had there. Sandra showed us around to the renovated suites that she had completed, for an older motel these rooms are top notch and we will stay there next year again, this time for the whole week!! I suggest before you listen to any of these reviews, you judge for yourself, you never know if you are giving up a little piece of paradise!!

Thanks to Sandra for making our time very enjoyable!! See you next year too Sue!!

J, K, L & J

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank friendlytravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
0.2 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
0.2 mi away
Sandy Beach Motel
Sandy Beach Motel
#1 of 26 in Osoyoos
318 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakeview Motel & Suites
Lakeview Motel & Suites
#8 of 26 in Osoyoos
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Beach Motel

Property: Sun Beach Motel
Address: 7303 Main St, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V3, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Sun Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing