We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than expected!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday inn Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Much better than expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

My adult daughter booked a '1 B/RM STE W QN BED 1 DBL BD' suite for our stay in Osoyoos. We need accommodation that allows us to sleep in seperate rooms, but still be together. Usually this makes our options very limited for our budget, but in this case we got very lucky. Usually my daughter has to sleep on a sofa bed in the sitting room, but our suite actually had two full bedrooms. One was an internal room with a glass block window into the dining area, so I guess that's why they call it a 1 bedroom, but for sleep quality it made a huge difference to us to have two full bedrooms with a real bed for each of us!
The website doesn't do this property any favours, the rooms online look like a retirement home, however we got such a great deal (under $100/night) that we figured we could put up with it for one night. The room has obviously been recently renovated however and had wallpapaper that looked like red silk, sparkling white duvets and huge fluffy pillows on the beds and 3 huge TVs including a flatscreen in the living room. All of the furnishings were very new and quite stylish.
The bathroom and fairly large kitchen had new granite countertops.
We were located on ground level, with a patio area at the front. This made our room very accessible to the outside parking, so we didn't use the huge underground parking lot. Our suite was directly in front of the parking ramp, so although that did mean we had lots of vehicles coming and going all the time, we also had a nice view of the lake with the bonus of the accessibility. With the patio doors closed we couldn't hear the traffic at all, and it was very busy. The sound insulation was really good.
The door to the beach at the back of the hotel was just a few steps from the door to our suite, so everything was very close by and the location on the strip between the two lakes in Osoyoos makes it feel like you are in a floating hotel, it's quite unique.
Although the suite appeared very clean for the most part, the bathtub had a layer of soap scum around the sides. It had obvously been wiped, but not scrubbed. The floor had been mopped, but they'd clearly done it with the door open and had missed the spot behind the door which was quite apparent with the door closed.
The kitchen was also mostly very clean but we found several dirty dishes in the cupboards. Make sure you check before using anything! The fridge was also also a bit annoying as it would roll out across the floor whenever you opened the door.
We found the room got a bit stuffy with the doors closed. We tried to put the A/C on but it didn't seem to do anything. Wasn't too much of a problem as it was only about 22 degrees outside, but maybe in the hottest part of the summer it might be an issue.
The TV reception was awful. They only have basic cable and about 5 of the 30 channels are unwatchable as they are really fuzzy. I mentioned this to the front desk and they immediately callled maintenance to come and check it. The maintenance man told me that the reception was normal though, and nothing could be done, which seemed strange as the front desk supervisor I spoke to didn't seem to be aware of the problem. They do have pay per view movies, but the selection was pretty poor and I wouldn't pay for a movie on a TV with such a bad picture. It was slightly better on the bedroom TV but not much.
Check out time is early at 10am, and they make a point of letting you know that late check outs are not available.
Overall we liked it so much that we stayed for a 2nd night.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grandmascanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    145
    89
    43
    58
See reviews for
129
138
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

We arrived early a little after 12pm. They had one room ready, and said the other one would be ready in about 2 hours. We asked if we could upgrade if we paid the difference. Joan did some checking and then came back and upgraded us at no additional charge. WE checked right in. Thanks Joan

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golf789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Paid 2 weeks in advance. And this was our mistake. We must have gotten the worst suite in the whole building. The view from the bedroom was on a gravel filled roof of a part of the building, the window so dirty that it would be dangerous to touch it. The hotel website does not tell which side of the building the selected suite would face. So we ended up with a street side view as our kind of suite is on this side only. The sleeping was terrible. There were 3 choices: not sleeping from heat, not sleeping from street noise when one opened the window or not sleeping from air conditioner noise. The staff new we asked for a crib so we would have a stroller as well, yet the only access to the room was through stairs (yes, we had to take the baby out and carry the stroller over the stairs each time we were leaving or coming back). The hotel seems to be ran down. I saw dangling wires from a missing smoke detector in the bedroom ceiling, peeling off paint in the swimming pool, loose rails in the swimming pool shower room, tacky wallpaper, dirty carpets. My advice: do not go there. If you really have to, do not make reservation through internet, do not pay in advance, speak with a person and ask a lot of questions.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ar1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Osoyoos hotels

Karlsruhe
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed in this hotel during a 4-week trip through Northwestern US and Canada and chose it because of its location right in the middle between Glacier NP and Vancouver. The stay was nice, the rooms large and comfortable. The location directly at the lake cannot be beaten, the hotel offers a private beach for guests. All other amenities were also in good shape. Note that this place is told to be the warmest spot in Canada.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tfrka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

We recently stayed here for 2 nights and although the room was clean and the beds were OK....the hotel/hallways/parking garage just felt run down and dirty. We were on the fourth floor and the hallway had been updated. However the other floors had worn out carpets and really tacky wallpaper. We had a view of the lake, but you really couldn't sit out on your balcony as we were on the frontside of the hotel which faced the highway which had semi's and Harleys cruising by at low speeds. However I must say at night with the air conditioner on we could not hear the traffic....but we could hear our drunk neighbours returning back to their room.

We walked down the stairwell one day to access the beach and there were puddles of beer as obviously someone had spilled some. We would definitely not recommend this hotel.
The one highlight of Osoyoos that we would definitely recommend is ATB watersports. They (Matt and Geoff) took us out in their ski boat and helped our kids wakeboard and with tubing. It was well worth the money as they were friendly, experienced and knowledgeable. Kids had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cowboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2010

This place is fine for a place to crash for the night ...but only if you get an awesome rate. Otherwise, my advice is to skip it. the hotel needs a major update. The location is nice but Osoyoos is such a small town that you can drive anywhere in about 10 minutes so the location in itself is not worth it. Don't expect a very clean room. Don't expect great service either. There are stairs on every floor, and in both wings, so you have to go down stairs and up stairs again (on the same floor) to get to your room. Let me tell you that when you have heavy luggage, and a stroller and two year old, this is a huge pain. I would not return here unless I absolutely had to.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We stayed at this hotel mainly because of its location (right by the Osoyoos lake) which ended up being the only good thing about this hotel.
Right from the start I had one disappointment after another from this hotel. They are very stingy and do not care about customer satisfaction at all!
Here are some of the problems I had with them:
1- I had asked for a two king bed rooms suite. They actually gave us a King+kids room! Then they refused to change our suite. If they did not have available what I was asking for they shouldn't have reserved it for me at the first place!
2- The fan in the bathroom was not working. I asked them 3 times to fix it. They said they will send someone but no one showed up!
3- Toaster in the kitchen was out of order.
4- For four people, they only put towels and shampoo for two.
5- There was an ice machine right in front of our suite and every half hour during the night I was waken up by the ice crushing noise of that machine.
6- We went for a dinner, and when we came back there was no parking spot left in the hotel's parking.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babaeey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
0.4 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Osoyoos
Super 8 Osoyoos
#9 of 26 in Osoyoos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#4 of 26 in Osoyoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday inn Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday inn Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday inn Hotel & Suites
Address: 7906 Main Street | PO Box 1026, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Osoyoos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday inn Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Finest Lakeside Hotels in British Columbia Let us offer you a warm welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos, located on Canada's warmest lake in the South Okanagan town of Osoyoos. With our prime location by one of the busiest Canada / US border crossings and at the junction of two major highways #3 & 97, this is the perfect spot for business travelers. With all of the traffic coming through, guests can take advantage of many business opportunities in town. This lakeside Holiday Inn has some of the best options for meeting venues, including two restaurants, boardroom, lounge and spacious patio. Located on a peninsula, our Holiday Inn Hotel offers views of Lake Osoyoos from every room. In keeping with the resort theme, we have our own private beach and marina, offering boat rentals (canoes, kayaks, ski boats and more), moorage, fuel and access to many water sports like parasailing. Nearby there are many world-class wineries, golf courses and plenty of good skiing. Leisure travelers will not be short of ideas for their exciting Osoyoos vacations. Our Osoyoos hotel's amenities include an indoor pool, Health & Fitness Centre with hot tub, business services and barbecue areas. With great lake views, our restaurants are rated among the best dining in the South Okanagan area. Whether in town on Osoyoos vacations or business trips, guests will find that the Holiday Inn has everything they are looking for and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday inn Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel Osoyoos
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Osoyoos
Osoyoos Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing