We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some cleaning and non-smoking rules”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My family of 5 recently stayed at this hotel for 9 days. The pros is it is a very convenient location and it's very handy to have the boat rental facility on premisis. It is also one of the few facilities that caters to five people with a good set-up of two bedrooms, one with a double/single bunkbed. It would have been handy to have had two bathrooms though. The room location was nice with walk out access to the beach and a nice private table right outside, The cons though have to do with the general cleanliness of the place. The maid never caught on that there were five people in the room (despite actually meeting us on several occassions) and never left more than two towels. I ended up stealing them from the pool. My major complain however is they need some serious smoking rules. I have never seen so many smokers in my life outside of China! It was almost impossible to sit outside as everyone around us was lighting up. They all tossed their cigarette butts everywhere. If we weren't dodging butts we were watching out for broken beer bottles. Everyday I cleaned up broken glass from the grass near the beach and the tiny beach itself--another con as the beach is very narrow and rocky. The area to sit outside is quite small and you better wake up at the crack of dawn to reserve one of the few lounges. Some were reserved all night. Nevertheless we did have fun although I sure was disappointed by having to inhale second hand smoke and dodge broken glass. Consider the nightly charge was the same as our beachfront condo in Maui, I expected a bit more.

Room Tip: Get a first floor beach walk out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 446 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

We are Priority Club members and have stayed at a few Holiday Inns. The Holiday Inn in Osoyoos is situated on warm Lake Osoyoos and our room had a beautiful lake view. Although our room was clean upon arrival and the beds were soft and comfortable, the coffee maker had not been cleaned. The hallways were filthy and clearly needed to be vacuumed. We had to ask a few times to have our room cleaned on our second day. Clearly they have a housekeeping shortage.The bathroom is old and outdated and the sink is located in the main room with the beds making it hard to get up early while others sleep. We didn't use the pool because the area was dirty and the pool was murky. I would not chose this hotel again and will not recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnvalleygirl1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Overpriced for what you get, rooms getting tired,property grounds not maintained,if you like kids go here, if you want peace and quiet this isn't for you.
Right on the lake,small beach area.
Better off at other motels in the area or the hostel.
Staff didn't care, undersized lobby, lots of complaints.
For the price should include continental breakfast.
Don't bother with onsite restaurants.
Enough to turn me off,wouldn't go back to Osoyoos.

Room Tip: Get lakefront rooms on bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee8934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear Lee8934,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Suites around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on poor customer service and undersized lobby. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Don't waste your money! Totally over rated! WiFi did not work for 2 days, garbage was taken out of the garbage can and left on the bathroom floor, ants crawling in corners on the bathroom floor, toiletries not replenished after second day, coffee not replenished, no coffee cups , and they are styrofoam, called the desk for some, but had to track down housekeeping at 6:00 pm to get cups. Beach is very small guests allowed to save chairs for entire day or even overnight! For $200 / night keep going!!

Room Tip: Keep going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winecountrysummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were driving back from Alaska to Vancouver and needed one more stop before coming back to Vancouver. We decided to have a stop over in Osoyoos at the Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites. We selected this hotel because we knew Osoyoos is a very beautiful city. The hotel is facing the lake and has its own private beach. The lake was fantastic, but the beach did not impress us. We know it is unfair to compare a lake beach to the famous beaches of Sydney.
The reception was very cordial and helpful when we checked in. We were given a suite with two rooms and a kitchen. This hotel is fairly well established old hotel. We found they are celebrating their sixtieth anniversary in August. Our suite had a balcony with a view of the lake. The sitting area had a big flat TV and a writing desk. Then in the two rooms there were two smaller TVs. There was a big fridge in the kitchen. This is a good place for those who like to cook their own food and stay for a longer period. There was no free breakfast. The food in the restaurant adjoining the hotel is very reasonably priced.
The beds were very comfortable. The rooms were clean, but we found the coffee maker has not been cleaned. When we called house keeping, they brought another coffee maker and took the used one.
The hotel gave us some good information about the wineries and we went to a winery for wine tasting. There were many orchards in the area offering own fruit picking. We did not have enough time, so we simply bought the picked cherries in big punnets.
I would definitely come to this hotel again for a longer period.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewFernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Spent the May long weekend birding in and around Osoyoos, BC, which has some of the most unique and abundant bird life in the nation. Holiday Inn staff were friendly and efficient, and the room was expansive. Balcony, kitchen, living room, bedroom with black-out curtains, and very good air conditioning. The kitchen was well-appointed and we wanted for nothing. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank don e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I just stayed at this hotel with my mother and daughter on July 16 & 17th. The staff is great, hotel room comfortable with a great view of the lake, restaurants great. My only issue was the beach. The reason i booked this was to go to the beach as i love this lake. It's one of my favorites in canada. We got down there and the beach is very small but that wasn't the issue it was that i found broken glass, rusty bottle caps and a fish hook and line in the sand where my 1 yr old daughter was about to go play. lets just say it freaked me out. I went out and bought her watershoes and then was on the alert for the entire trip. This beach is part of their property and should be maintained especially during the summer season when its full. Be careful!

Room Tip: great hotel but be careful of the beach, wear watershoes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missvaliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
0.0 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
0.4 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Osoyoos
Super 8 Osoyoos
#8 of 26 in Osoyoos
359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Walnut Beach Resort
Walnut Beach Resort
#5 of 26 in Osoyoos
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos

Address: 7906 Main Street | PO Box 1026, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Osoyoos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range: $82 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Finest Lakeside Hotels in British Columbia Let us offer you a warm welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos, located on Canada's warmest lake in the South Okanagan town of Osoyoos. With our prime location by one of the busiest Canada / US border crossings and at the junction of two major highways #3 & 97, this is the perfect spot for business travelers. With all of the traffic coming through, guests can take advantage of many business opportunities in town. This lakeside Holiday Inn has some of the best options for meeting venues, including restaurants, boardroom, lounge and spacious patio. Located on a peninsula, our Holiday Inn Hotel offers views of Lake Osoyoos from every room. In keeping with the resort theme, we have our own private beach and marina, offering boat rentals (canoes, kayaks, ski boats and more), moorage, fuel and access to many water sports like parasailing. Nearby there are many world-class wineries, golf courses and plenty of good skiing. Leisure travelers will not be short of ideas for their exciting Osoyoos vacations. Our Osoyoos hotel's amenities include an indoor pool, Health & Fitness Centre with hot tub, business services and barbecue areas. With great lake views, our restaurants are rated among the best dining in the South Okanagan area. Whether in town on Osoyoos vacations or business trips, guests will find that the Holiday Inn has everything they are looking for and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn Hotel Osoyoos
Holiday Inn Osoyoos
Osoyoos Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing