We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Osoyoos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabana Beach Campground & RV Park
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We just happened upon this campsite when we got to Osoyoos. Although the sites are close together, the cabanas are such a wonderful feature it offset the closeness. That being said, the closeness also afforded us a chance to get to know our neighbours quickly. The rates were very reasonable, the showers/washrooms were extremely clean. The beach was beautiful and right across the road from us. There happened to be a magician camping there one of the nights we stayed there, and we could hear the very happy chatter and applause of the children. After the first night, we actually decided to stay an additional evening because we enjoyed it so much.

It has a great proximity to the town, and the owner was personable. It's beautiful in Osoyoos, and staying at a campground like this made our visit even more memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in August. The campsites are very close together and lack any sort of privacy, so if that is what you are looking for, this is not the place. Overall this place has its share of pros and cons. Pros include the decent washrooms that are cleaned several times a day, the individual cabanas that, yes are very run down, but do provide a sink, running water and electricity. Also the proximity to the beach from the campsite is great. The cons are again the lack of privacy as the camp stalls are extremely close together. It is a very kid friendly place so if you have kids with you, great. If you do not, it is very loud and not relaxing at all. Another con is the lack of fires allowed, which isn't a huge con as it is generally so hot in Osoyoos anyway, but if you think camping and fires go hand in hand, you may be disappointed. Overall, it is a decent spot for a few days. The price is comparable to other sites in the area and the management and staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BeeandJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
osoyooslife, Owner at Cabana Beach Campground & RV Park, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for this detailed review, it is appreciated. Your concerns about older cabanas are being addressed in our ongoing maintenance plan. The older kitchen cabanas in the back row will get repairs to fix the fronts of the floor boards, that have broken down due to weather and wear. PS I hope your star rating of us was not brought down by the fact that no fires are allowed, because that is not our choice it is a ban issued by the government on our region of BC virtually every summer. You may not have known that we allow the use of portable propane fire-pits- which you can bring - and operate at your site or at the beach until 11 pm. Thank you and we hope to see you another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oliver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

the owner is a power tripper .the place is very run down !!!!! it is close to the beach not far from town. showers and washrooms very run down . cabana floors rotting . building itself needs paint and a lot of TLC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at Cabana Beach in July 2012 and were less then impressed. When I did my research it said it was walking distance to town and as a Mom of 3 kids 5 and under I would say walking 3km to town is outta the question. There is absolutely no privacy in the sites and they are very, very small sites, I'd say 20x40' at most. Also the male owner is very arrogant, he approached us very rudely on our 2nd night saying we were plugged in to the wrong site and had our water hooked up wrong, customer service definitely isn't this man's strong point, he could have approached us in a much more pleasant manner, especially considering nobody explained to us how the sites work. How were we to know that we were to hook up our water to the sink tap inside the canbana rather then the obvious choice on the side of the building. Then he told our guests that they would have to pay $10 for their vehicle to be on site plus $6/person to be there for an hour for supper. Seems a bit steep to me. And showers were a whopping $1 for 6 minutes!! Overall it just wasn't a great experience for us and will not be returning. I hope the male owner learns how to better deal with his customers, a little customer service goes a long long way!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ownersince1992, Owner at Cabana Beach Campground & RV Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Hello I am the "female" owner, and am also one of the office managers. I am sorry you felt unhappy during your stay. During your research, you must have missed checking our website which does indicate that we are located 2.4 km to the Main Street of Osoyoos, and also does state that day visitors cost $6 per day and that parking for extra cars is $10. the visitor fees are also shown on a large sign behind/above the desk where you registered when you arrived. If you still missed all that, regarding unregistered visitors, I suggest you should check at the office first - at any campground so you dont have any awkward misunderstandings.. To explain the reason why the grounds manager/owner insisted you switch your water hookup, it is imperative that the customer use the campground (well) water supply and not the irrigation tap water. The "male owner" saw you had your hose attached to the irrigation tap near the back of the cabana and simply wanted you to switch your hose on the campground well water from the water tap at your sink. He was simply making sure you don't drinking water from the lake. In future if you are unsure of how anything works at your campsite, the main desk staff. with their reception training and experience, are friendly, patient and polite and used to answering incoming guests concerns or questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Besides the power tripping owner who thinks he owns everything, its a great location on the beach with boat launch and maurring included in price. This was our 3rd season there and our last for a while. The Cabanas are very run down and in need of repair, the fridge $6.00 a day are 25 years old and freeze your fruit and veggys. With all the money this campground makes, this power tripping owner should put some money back into the business and fix the cabannas, fridges, and the bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Rastda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ownersince1992, Owner at Cabana Beach Campground & RV Park, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
HI we appreciate all reviews! It is true this campground is ageing, and there is an ongoing maintenence schedule, where we try to keep the kitchen cabanas servicable, but they are from the 1960's. I would like to clarify that the fridge rentals are optional @ $6 per day, in the open-sided kitchen cabanas.. Most campers really like having a cold fridge to store their bottled water, pop and milk etc. These 24 inch wide, apartment sized fridges are not brand new or we would have to charge far more than $6 per day to rent one, including electricity it takes. They are of varying ages, but they get cold and are just meant to be a convenience. I am sorry your produce froze, as the exact temperature is hard to control in our summer heat which can hit 35+C in the daytime. When a fridge runs continuously on the highest setting, then with door closed all night, perhaps thats when it froze your produce. In future it would probably be best to bring a cooler for produce in case that might happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

I had occasion to stay in this park got two days, and although the park is not set up for big rigs, it is very comfortable and the location is second to none. It is located right on the lake on a quiet street. The owners of the park go out of their ways to ensure you have a great stay regardless of the circumstances. Great place!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caser41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

This was our first "family" stay at the campground. I had come up alone for a weekend to test the waters. Then brought my family for a week. After getting back home and having had such a great time, my husband and I came up for another weekend to enjoy ourselves again. The location is great. The people at the campground were very nice. We loved the family feel. Love that you have trees and grass it wasn`t a paved parkign lot like some others in the area. It is a very relaxing spot. We will be back. We hope to make this a regular part of our vacation plans.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sheriboisvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Osoyoos
1.9 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
13.5 mi away
The Lakeside Resort
The Lakeside Resort
#5 of 8 in Oliver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunrise Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
1.6 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
1.5 mi away
Destiny Beach Resort
Destiny Beach Resort
#24 of 26 in Osoyoos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabana Beach Campground & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabana Beach Campground & RV Park

Property: Cabana Beach Campground & RV Park
Address: 2231 Lakeshore Dr, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Operates approx May 15 - Sept 15 each summer. A small, family-run campground located on Osoyoos Lake, near the Town of Osoyoos in BC Canada. Established in the 1960's this campground has always catered to families, seniors, couples and single travellers. The campground accepts tents, small/medium-sized RVs and also offers to those needing a simple budget sleeping unit several camping cabins and bedroom cabanas - these rooms comes with beds, mattresses, lights, electricity, a fridge, sink, mini-stove, and outdoor patio (weekly stays only in summer). Although an older park, Cabana Beach Campground has unique features that you will not likely find at older/rustic or provincial campsites : the 3-sided "kitchen cabana" shelters come with a picnic table, sink, light, and elec outlet and are included at most of the tent sites, with optional fridge rental available. Some modern amenities are also:fully tiled, coin-op showers, free use of central wifi, free use of air-compressor hose to quickly fill up your air-beds, bike tires, and all your floating water toys. Park owners live on-site. This park has strictly enforced common-sense campsite rules - No noise or behaviours which annoy or disturb other campers. For this reason, radios or tv's must be off by 10 pm, and "quiet time" is at 11 pm . There is one (perhaps) unusual rule - No Dogs are accepted. No fires either - but the main reason is there is often a complete regional fire-ban all summer long. Campers can still bring a propane fire pit. Also a campstove or barbecue for grilling! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing