We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Gem”

Ella Greek and Mediterranean Grill
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Osoyoos, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Desert Gem”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

What a great little place Not fine dining but is bright and clean with an open concept.
. Prices were very reasonable and was informed by the waitress that they did not increase
for the summer months.
Menu evidenced lots of appetizers wraps and platters. Greek Salad was the best we have ever experienced and small or large portions available.
Service was top notch. We highly recommend for Greek or Mediterranean food lovers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    51
    26
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Actually went in for a quick donair, as that is the impression of the establishment, but we sat down and ordered lamb souvlaki and calamari instead. After living in the lower mainland and visiting numerous excellent greek restaurants like Stefanos, Taverna Greka, Paros who all make excellent calamari I was a little skeptical of ordering this in Osoyoos. The server/owner assured me it was worth ordering; It was fabulous! Not a typical large portioned greek calamari dinner, but definitely hand made in small batches and lightly deep fried and fresh; I left full. Wife loved the lamb shanks as well;very flavourful and tender. The rice pilaf had alot less saffron than I am used to in a greek restaurant, but it was good. The homemade pita was more like a naan bread, but it was fresh and tasty with the homemade tzatziki and hummous. I had a glass of N'kip red which was excellent as well, and just $5.95. More of a take-out atmosphere, but it is obviously a family of three trying to make ends meet in a small tourist town. I will definitely return on our next trip to Osoyoos

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank physicsteacher2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were in Osoyoos on a miserable rainy day in October, and hungry. Many restaurants were closed; we decided to take a chance on Ella as we drove by a nondescript mall. The inside of the restaurant was bright, the setting was simple and clean. But what a gem we discovered. They serve the best calamari that I have ever had- sweet and tender, in a light batter. Their chicken souvlaki and lamb souvlaki were excellent, the pita bread was the best. The server was very helpful and advised us on where to find what in town. I highly recommend Ella (I see that many TA reviewers feel the same); IMO, Ella puts many of the Greek restaurants in my city to shame!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoneSoLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid this place. It is anything but fine dining!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We came here on Sunday evening for my husband's birthday as it was one of only 3 restaurants in Osoyoos listed as "fine dining". The waitress did not greet us, but only stared at us like we were bothering her by coming in. She practically threw the food at us, which was mediocre to say the least- a huge pile of gooey rice dominated the plate with mutton masquerading as lamb on skewers. We had to disturb the waitress and her 2 colleagues in the back when it came time to pay the bill as they were all busy on their phones. It was a very disappointing evening and we will never return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schn00dle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delish Moussaka but too much rice side dish”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Smiling service from the young female who is furthering her education to become a corrections officer, was attentive and friendly. She let us know there were only two moussaka left, so I grabbed one. Delicious. Comparable to Theo's in Penticton or Pasta Lupino in Whistler. Their platters were reasonably priced ($14 & $16) but could have done with half the amount of rice.

Overall an enjoyable quiet evening. Would go back again next time we're in Osoyoos.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BicycleCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ella Greek and Mediterranean Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing