We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for the family”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Osoyoos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poplars Motel On The Lake
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot for the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had our family reunion there on the second weekend in September and we all had such a wonderful time we are going back again next year. Frank and Cindy the managers were the best they did eveything the could to accomodate all our needs, and believe me we were a large group ranging from senior to babies so we had many requests. The rooms are older but are equiped with fridges, stoves, dishes, everything a family needs and they are very clean. The beach is great and the water is shallow enough that the kids can play for hours. I cannot say enough good things it was the perfect stop for our family to get together and we are all looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: If you are staying with kids and lots of luggage etc. ask for a ground level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    37
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
60
35
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We stay here every year for the wine festival and always enjoy it. Being steps away from the beach is great and you can walk to nearby restaurants and pubs.
Very economically priced and very friendly service! The money we save on our stay is far better being used on buying wine!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dockgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We've been staying at the Poplars for 7 years in late July. We like it! The manager Frank and Cindy are great, we like the beach, the pub across the street and especially the aquantances met over the years.
J&M Sasaktoon

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have been staying at the Poplars Motel for many years and have always enjoyed every moment there. You are able to walk just a few steps from your room and you find yourself on the beach. Located near the end of the strip, it is very private and quiet, but still in walking distance to all the stores in town. Always check out Rattlesnake Canyon which is just a five minute walk from the motel. The managers Frank and Cindy are great and make every visit amazing and comfortable. Their young staff are very helpful and always able to accomadate. The rooms are basic, but always well cleaned and comfortable. All aound this is a great place to stay and i always look forward to going back. A great family friendly place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Well we have been staying at the Poplars for years,with either family or friends. The beach is always clean and the water not rocky. Makes a big difference when u have little ones. Great location, fantastic managers Cindy and Frank made our stay very inviting and comfortable. Very clean older hotel, alittle dated but your there to have fun on the beach or do whatever your not there to sleep your holidays away. Will always go back to the Poplars. The 5 'G's

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We want to say what a wonderful time we had again July 28th to August 7th, 2012 at the Poplars in Osoyoos, B.C. It is a safe, clean, family orientated place to stay. The managers are very kind
and always there if you need anything extra, 24hours a day 7 days a week. They are amazing!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, as the Poplar's is beachfront, so we spend all our time on the beach. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cupcakes413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

There are a lot of hotel/motel options in Osoyoos---trendy new resorts like the Watermark and the Walnut Beach or chain hotels like the Holiday Inn and the Coast. But, if you are looking for somewhere to stay with a friendly, family feeling, join the many people that return here year after year for their beach holiday. Located at the less crowded end of the strip of hotels, this older motel has a large lawn with BBQ's and picnic tables, and a nice stretch of sandy beach lined with poplar trees that provide welcome shade on very hot afternoons. The rooms are basic but large, clean and affordable, with full kitchens and outside seating. If you don't have small children and don't mind climbing stairs, try to stay on the second or third floor or book a room in the newer section for views of the lake. The long time managers, Frank and Cindy, are personable, and friendly, greeting many of their guests by name and remembering them from summer to summer! The young cleaning staff are helpful, thorough and accommodating.The motel is located within walking distance of restuarants, grocery stores, fruit stands ,the Sage pub and Rattlesnake Canyon amusement park,so you could park your car here and not move it for the duration of your stay! We have booked again for next year-our 5th summer at the Poplars-- and look forward to long days of sun and sand, BBQ's on the lawn, and sunset cocktails overlooking the lake!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FifiandChamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
0.6 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunrise Inn
1.0 mi away
Lakeview Motel & Suites
Lakeview Motel & Suites
#8 of 26 in Osoyoos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandy Beach Motel
Sandy Beach Motel
#1 of 26 in Osoyoos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplars Motel On The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplars Motel On The Lake

Property: Poplars Motel On The Lake
Address: 6404 Cottonwood Drive, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Poplars Motel On The Lake Hotel Osoyoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing