We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families & people who like to learn- rain or shine”

Nk'Mip Desert Cultural Centre
Ranked #3 of 47 things to do in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Nk’mip Desert Cultural Centre is a 9,000 square-foot interpretive centre that exhibits 2 films, the Inkameep Day School Art Collection, indoor and outdoor interactive exhibits, a 1.5 km walking trail, and reconstructed traditional Okanagan village, and (visitor favourite) interpreter hosted programs which boast a fun filled experience for all ages! The centre is also an architectural marvel, and was built from local, sustainable materials.
Oliver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for Families & people who like to learn- rain or shine”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

There is so much to do and see. The inside portion is temperature regulated, so if the day gets too hot in the summer, it is incredibly relaxing. You can learn about and get thrilled by the rattlesnake show, learn about PowWows, or learn about native plant life. Sometimes the PowWow show is interactive and real performance and sometimes it is more of an academic look at PowWows. It depends on the day. There is a remade village with art and pit huts you can go inside on the hike - only about 20 minutes from the "museum" section.

You can learn Okanagan First Nations words, play a little drum... My two kids and I have gone several times over a year and we have a great time every single time. Did I forget about the rattlesnakes, frogs etc. on display? And the gift shop with so many high class jewelry gifts and other unique gifts you just can't get anywhere else? (For my parents, who have everything.) And finally, in the summer you can walk a minute towards the hotel and have lunch at the coffee shop, next to the fountain. Usually kid friendly things are not also nice for adults - but this place has broken the mold. We absolutely love it!!!!.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerBryson, Marketing Manager at Nk'Mip Desert Cultural Centre, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
What an awesome review! Thank you for the detail and the love you show for the Centre and the surrounding businesses at Nk'Mip Resort. Our interpreters and staff are proud to teach and educate young and old alike about the desert and life within!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    131
    26
    10
    6
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cultural Centre tour”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Because my visit was in November I think I missed some of the uniqueness that would have been more obvious during the summer. I did talk to Derek for some time, he was extremely friendly and helpful. I watched both films as well and found the whole experience, both tour and exhibits, interesting and moving.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerBryson, Marketing Manager at Nk'Mip Desert Cultural Centre, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for visiting us and please, fret not about your time here in December as you did get a chance to taste-test the building, the Culture and the desert. The next step is discovering our site again in the summertime, which would definitely increase your awareness of our desert, centre, etc. Of what you experienced already and for the kind comments, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting, beautiful, fun”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Well done, lots of information but not too " schoolish". Well worth the time and walk. The Smoker Marchand artwork is beyond amazing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerBryson, Marketing Manager at Nk'Mip Desert Cultural Centre, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your concise and straight-to-the-point review. We, as a nation, are proud of Mr. Smoker Marchands metal sculptures and we know he is happy to display himself through his work. Hopefully you will come back and re-visit our reserve and nation and perhaps go on a 'Smoker Marchand Metal Sculpture Scavenger hunt' across our nation! You never know right? Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The displays in the building were very informative and the movie well done. The path walk around the grounds was also neat with interesting displays. You can also get driven and guided around the walk as it is a fair ways.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
927 reviews
461 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
“Good educational experience.”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Enjoyed a fews hours strolling through the static displays, video presentation, and outside pathways. The outside walk in on dirt walkways with some hills, however, there are areas to stop and sit or just view the mountains, lake, or vegetation. Walking impaired people would find the outside experience a challenge. Very comfortable outside as the weather was cool, however, I can see on a hot day the walk would be dry and dusty. Views are spectacular; I will bring binoculars next time! Inside had some pictures and historical information; it was a good start but I would enjoyed seeing and learning more. Gift store offered a variety of items.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DerBryson, Marketing Manager at Nk'Mip Desert Cultural Centre, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our Centre. You are correct, the outdoor walkway is gravel and at times it would be difficult for the walking impaired to get around. To remedy this situation our staff makes use of a golf cart upon request to take the elderly or walking impaired for a personal voyage of our desert trail. We hope to see you again at our desert and centre! Wey Lim Limpt (thank you)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nk'Mip Desert Cultural Centre also viewed

Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 
Osoyoos, Okanagan Valley
 

Been to Nk'Mip Desert Cultural Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing