We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Walnut Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, British Columbia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had the two-bedroom Merlot suite and found it to be well appointed with everything we expected. We had checked with the hotel before arrival so had brought our own blender for our usual morning smoothies and afternoon milkshakes for the kids! The kitchen was good but cooking equipment is not overly extensive. The staff are great and plentiful. We did not use the restaurant as we were doing our own cooking in the suite but the food I saw and smelled looked good. The pool is really great with a knockout view over the lake and down to the private beach. They have quite a few palapas on the beach and umbrellas at the pool for sun protection. Also they have a sauna, gym room and steam room which we used. One note for the hotel is that the instructions how to fire up the sauna and steam room are all worn off so something needs to be done for that. The beach is great but entrance into the water is pebbles so best to take water shoes. Good Wi-Fi throughout and underground parking. The staff do a great job keeping the public areas tidy and they are strict about shutting down the hot tubs etc. at 10 PM so not to bother guests looking for a quiet evening. Plenty of well-cleaned barbecues just off from the pool area. There are barbecue tools but no burger flippers on tongs so if you need those take your own? I did read that you need to get up early to grab a lounger but we did not find that was at all true on our stay in July. The staff could do a little better on enforcing their posted rule that there should not be any of the big floating toys in the pool but mostly people were respectful of other users. Nice place for a get-away.

Room Tip: Nice to have lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    308
    148
    46
    31
See reviews for
356
439
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

There just isn't anything to justify the price. Staff is mediocre, amenities mediocre, rooms nice but underwhelming and overpriced. No room service, no knowledgeable staff... if you are looking for a vacation experience go somewhere else for the money. I'm tolerant but this was sad.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnuts66, General Manager at Walnut Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected here at the resort. We do not normally get comments like this so I would appreciate if you could elaborate more on what our staff was lacking and what our amenities were not up to your expectations.

I can be emailed at dbrogan@walnutbeachresort.com or our toll free line is 877-936-5400.

Looking forward to hearing more about your stay.

Cheers,
Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

First time to Walnut Resort & our family was very pleased with the spectacular view overlooking from our suites (we had 2 suites with lake view), private beach, the pool, the helpful & friendly staff, etc. Everything should deserve 5 stars, except this one little one. Today is exactly 2 weeks since our 2 night stay there & my husband, his aunt & uncle are STILL comparing their ouwee on their shins where they bumped & hurt badly from the corners of the sturdy WALNUT beds. Are we a clumsy family or other guest may have the same experience? We will still stay there next time we visit Osoyoos, but make a note to ourselves to watch for those corners...LOL

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip_chip_cookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

After spending 3 nights at the Watermark Hotel decided to extend our stay as friends were staying at the Walnut Beach. So we joined them a couple of nights. Stay was nice. Rooms are clean, spacious and staff are friendly. Pool side was not as fun for kids compared to Watermark as it has a water slide but trade off is the private beach. Only complaint was the annoying flies. Which is expected. Overall we were happy. If friends stayed their we would join them otherwise our personal preference is Watermark only because you don't have to deal with pesky flies.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonnyYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a lovely property with an excellent location right on the water. The room we got was very nice with a full kitchen. However, the location of our room was a BIG problem as there was a wedding that weekend (apparently common in summer). We were on the first floor (room 108) and were literally steps away from the kitchen service area and just down the hall from the wedding reception. Whenever the door to the reception opened, it was very loud. Staff were also loud as they served dinner and drinks and the service door opened and closed all night. The next morning, housekeeping staff were inches from our door breaking down boxes and talking loudly. When brought to their attention they stopped and seemed horrified they made this mistake. This was all brought to the managers attention and he certainly made it right by adjusting our bill substantially. If you are considering this property and it is a weekend likely to have a wedding going on, don't take a room on the first floor near rooms 106-110.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room on the first floor near 106-110 if it is a weekend as a wedding will probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn4407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Short and sweet, we spent 2 nights here and thought it was great. The location is great for hitting up the wineries and then enjoying your purchases afterwords. The rooms are great, pool and hot tubs are great, and the licensed beach is the topper. We plan to return soon.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Len P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We recently stayed at the Walnut Beach on our 4th trip to Osoyoos. We've stayed at the Holiday Inn, Best Western and Spirit Ridge but I would pick this hotel over Spirit Ridge given its star rating is probably in the same class. The hotel has a nice pool (although a slide for the kids would be nice) as well as critical beach acccess allowing you to interchange between the two easly. The resort is in a great location and walking distance to many things. We had a nice one bedroom suite which features its own room internet access and it was great to have Telus TV in the room...made it easy given I have telus at home. The staff at the hotel are also super friendly and very helpfull. A very relaxing vacation for either a couple or a family (our kids are 10 and 7 and had a blast). Only suggestion to the hotel is to do some upkeep to the hotel (painting of scuffed walls and worn carpets) and to clean some the cob webs!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanha10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
1.5 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
1.2 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunrise Inn
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Osoyoos
Super 8 Osoyoos
#9 of 26 in Osoyoos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Beach Resort

Property: Walnut Beach Resort
Address: 4200 Lakeshore Dr, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Osoyoos
#3 Business Hotel in Osoyoos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osoyoos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
#7 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Walnut Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Walnut Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walnut Beach Hotel Osoyoos
Walnut Beach Osoyoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing