We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Walnut Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Thank you”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had to postpone our trip to Walnut Beach due to the Alberta floods - not directly affected but had several evacuated friends staying with us . Thanks to Michelle we were able to change our dates with ease.
The resort is beautiful. We were very happy with our room . Our room - one bedroom suite - had a washer / dryer . As a mom of 2 boys this was certainly appreciated ! This is definitely a resort for families . The pool area could be quite noisy at times due to the high number of children . Not a problem for us but could be for couples wanting a quiet romantic break .
The food served at the poolside restaurant was of a very high standard. Special mention to the chef ,Todd, who was wonderful with our inquisitive 9yr old son . We appreciate that restaurant kitchens can be high stress environments but he still had the time and patience to explain what was happening to our young chef of the future - and still produce fantastic food ! Thank you !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpudG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    327
    156
    50
    32
See reviews for
372
465
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We came back to Walnut Beach for 5 nights at the end of June for our third year in a row. This is fast becoming a family tradition, and we brought my parents from Edmonton for our annual summer holiday. The staff at the front desk were genuinely happy to help and checking in was a breeze. My husband, my 9-year old daughter and I shared a 1-bedroom lakeview room with all the comforts of home (full kitchen, washer & dryer, etc) and my parents shared a similar room. We enjoyed many hours by the pool, on the private beach, using the sauna and other amenities like the pool-side bbq's. Beds and pillows were fantastic. We had a minor issue with the air conditioning but maintenance was at our room immediately and the problem was resolved quickly and with virtually no disturbance to us. Well done! We were lucky enough to catch a week of heat after what sounded like a week of rain. We look forward to visiting again and recommending to family and friends!

Room Tip: Ask for the lake-view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in July. We were in the studio mountain view suite. The rooms was well appointed and large for a studio. The staff were friendly, but quite casual with us for what is advertised as a high end resort (maybe this was because we were young). The hotel was busy with a wedding. The pool was clean and had a lovely lake view. The bed was a king and comfortable. The pool deck and lake areas are licensed so outside alcohol is not permitted. The drinks are very expensive. For a hotel that is equipped with kitchens, one should expect to be allowed their own beer at the pool. The hotel is probably one of the nicer ones in the area, but definitely is comparable to more of a three star in the Vancouver area, especially in terms of little things like small paint chips needing to be touched up, decor, and overall cosmetic maintenance. I would recommend, but there is room for improvement.
There are great communal bbqs and kitchens in the units, so I would recommend bringing food to cook. Unfortunately you are not supposed to bring drinks to the BBQ area or anywhere outside your room. I might prefer just renting a condo for less money and no silly rules.

Room Tip: All rooms we saw were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Einsteincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed (again!) at Walnut Beach this June, this time bringing our family from Ontario and Vancouver Island with us for a large family celebration. As always, a great time was had by all. My family was very pleased with Walnut Beach - they had initially wanted to go to Whistler, and I talked them out of it.
My little nieces were on the beach every day - they loved that part of it! We had 10 people in 3 rooms, and got together for meals every day, which was made easy by Sonja - she supplied lots of extra plates and cutlery so we had enough for everyone. We also had a fairly large party one night, and again, this was made very easy by having all of the needed supplies.
The rooms are very well equipped - everything you need to cook your meals. There is a dishwasher, washer/dryer, lots of closet space, and the bathrooms are huge! We loved our lakeview rooms - it's lovely to sit on the balcony and look out over the water. We were also next to the natural landscaping, and it was full of birds.
We had a couple of issues with the housekeeping staff, but they were fairly minor and resolved quickly. That, and the not-great wineglasses, are my only quibbles.
Having said that, we have been here several times, and will most definitely be back!
Sonja and Claire are wonderful, and there is a New Year's weekend being planned - it was a blast last year, and we are looking forward to this year!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

It had been years since I had visited Osoyoos - lots to love about this resort. The pool was exceptional. The location of the pool and the view of the lake was unbelievable. The private beach was also a nice touch as was the dock. Service from the front desk staff was outstanding and. We ate at the restaurant and were seated outdoors, the Chef and his staff were attentive and were open to our requests to modify our food orders. I can't wait to go back. Kudos to the staff for a great stay!

Room Tip: If you can get a room that has a partial lake view, you might save a bit of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

we didn't stay at the resort but did go in for dinner. We firstly sat inside but decided to move outside as it was a better atmosphere out there (you can hear the manager telling the servers what to do etc). The food was fantastic and the view of the pool was good with the lake. It was a busy night and our bill was quite high and I must admit, we were a bit of a fussy table but our server did an excellent job and did all she could for us. She was a young girl with red hair and was one of the best servers we have ever had. She was all smiles and a big sweetheart. Seeing the cook on the bbq was great and he striked up a conversation with us as well - he seemed so passionate about what he does and recommended a couple dishes which were really delicious. as we were leaving though, we noticed that the front desk girls were all sitting behind the desk laughing on their cell phones. thanks for dinner!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here with my wife last week for a few days. We received a one bedroom suite at a very reasonable rate. The room itself was well appointed, clean and very comfortable. There were extra beach towels and shower / bath towels in the room which was very appreciative.

We sat by the pool and ordered a drink a few minutes before closing of the bar. The server handled the situation very well and said they would be closing, but if we wanted to stay for a bit longer they would still take care of us. It was so nice and well put that we kind of felt bad for staying and making the server work later.

The air conditioning did not work during our stay, however the weather was cool so it did not matter. However, some rooms in the hotel were very hot and it began to get stuffy during the end of our stay.

My only suggestion is that the hotel needs to work on the little things. i.e.
- Painting the hallways and covering up dents / scratches.

Room Tip: Splurge and get the one bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daree_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
1.6 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
1.2 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Sunrise Inn
2.0 mi away
Super 8 Osoyoos
Super 8 Osoyoos
#9 of 26 in Osoyoos
316 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites Osoyoos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Beach Resort

Property: Walnut Beach Resort
Address: 4200 Lakeshore Dr, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Osoyoos
#3 Business Hotel in Osoyoos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osoyoos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
#7 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Walnut Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Walnut Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walnut Beach Hotel Osoyoos
Walnut Beach Osoyoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing