We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walnut Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Walnut Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Osoyoos
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I came here in the beginning of the season so it wasn't very busy at all...
We got upgraded for free as well!

Great facilities of sauna, steam room, hot tub, a barbeque area and a great walk on the dock.
It was great and I recommend for anyone to come here :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    298
    139
    45
    31
See reviews for
345
413
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
124 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This resort is “okay” but not extraordinary. It is hard to rationalize the “4 star” rating. The hotel was well situated on the lakeshore. The property is neat, clean and reasonably well maintained but rather “plain” in overall appearance. The plastic trees at the entrance appeared totally out of place. Our single “suite” was huge but the furnishings were rather drab. The bedding, while clean, was not of particularly good quality. The dining room (which shares space with the bar) was small and unattractive. The dinner menu was extremely limited and there is no option for breakfast service. In fact, the hotel web page is very misleading in this regard. Tim Horton’s, however, is only a few minutes away and there are a few reasonable alternatives for dinner in town.

Room Tip: A room with a lake view is worth the small added cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTravellerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Beautiful resort with pool and beach front. Very family friendly with great suites. Only stayed for one night but wish our stay was longer. Very friendly staff. Would definitely return. Restaurant is only open in peak season.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTOtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The location and the view were great, our room and common areas were very clean, and amenities (pool, sauna, steam room) very useful. We did not use the restaurant, nor their bbq place by the pool, but this is a nice hotel that I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martas2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I’ve stayed at Walnut Beach Resort several times and each stay has been memorable and enjoyable. The hotel is well maintained and the rooms are modern and clean. The pool is a nice size but the beach is really where it’s at. I’ve swam at many places in Osoyoos and I enjoy this beach the most! The underground parking is a bonus as well. The restaurant has good, fresh food but if you’re cooking your own meals they have large BBQ’s on site. Looking forward to my staying here this summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed in June for one night. It was a lovely, clean room with a nice view. It was a beautiful afternoon and were dreaming of a drink/snack by the pool/hot tub after our long drive. As other reviewers have noted.....the restaurant and bar were closed when we were there. There was no notice that it would be closed or we would have brought our own drinks and snacks. This was a HUGE disappointment for our evening. There were 15 people at the pool during the late afternoon (probably all wanting some service). That is poor management in my opinion for a resort in June

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We decide to stay here because of the excellent reviews the Walnut Beach Resort had received from other Trip Advisor users. How wrong we were! Its late spring - the second week in June and we find that everything here is closed. I expected that we could have had a drink in the evening overlooking the lake and then a nice dinner. We thought that we could have eaten breakfast in the morning. However the restaurant is closed, there is no breakfast. even the bar is closed. To top it all off, the restaurant in town recommended by the receptionist is also closed. All we have is a room ( perhaps a nice one at that), but this place is like a mausoleum right now. And the information in our room says that they aim to 'deliver service beyond your expectations'. Not tonight, Mister! Our expectations are totally unfulfilled and we feel that we have had very little value during our stay here. What a disappointment!

Room Tip: Just make sure that the resort is fully open before making a booking here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blwilson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Osoyoos hotels
1.5 mi away
Spirit Ridge at NK'MIP Resort
1.5 mi away
Watermark Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Coast Osoyoos Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sunrise Inn
1.4 mi away
Destiny Beach Resort
Destiny Beach Resort
#23 of 26 in Osoyoos
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday inn Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walnut Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walnut Beach Resort

Property: Walnut Beach Resort
Address: 4200 Lakeshore Dr, Osoyoos, British Columbia V0H 1V6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Osoyoos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Osoyoos
#3 Business Hotel in Osoyoos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Osoyoos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Osoyoos
#7 Family Hotel in Osoyoos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Walnut Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Walnut Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walnut Beach Hotel Osoyoos
Walnut Beach Osoyoos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing