We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Peppermills Grill & Bakery
Ranked #26 of 167 Restaurants in Cornwall
Price range: $8 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Our dining room has something for everyone.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Very good”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had the sirloin steak and the pasta with sausage. Both were very good and large portions. Good kids menu as well.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank EY_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    19
    2
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Atmosphere!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

A nice place to have a special dinner. Their Saturday night buffet was wonderful.
The dessert table is unbelievable.
A great place to celebrate a special occasion. Their Sunday brunch is also recommended.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank pierper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Had been to this restaurant a few times for lunch & dinner over the years - menu unremarkable, your average hotel food. Had noticed the timing getting slower and slower, but it didn't reach catastrophic proportions until visited with familly for a birthday dinner. We were a group of five. After ordering our drinks, we waited almost (wait for it) one hour for our food. The restaurant was far from busy (this was a Tuesday night, I believe). The poor hostess kept coming over and apologizing, indicating that they'd had a lot of complaints about the timing in the kitchen recently. When our food finally arrived, only 3 of the five dishes were edible. I had a tuna dish (which should be rare in the middle). Instead, it was overcooked, gray (seriously - hard gray tuna!), tough and inedible. So after waiting an hour, for the food to come, two of the five had to send our meals back. We ordered pasta - figuring that would be fast. It didn't come for another half an hour, and when it did I could not fathom what took so long - overcooked noodles that had obviously been sitting in a heavy unappetizing sauce. So then we had to wolf it down as we felt terrible for the other three family members who had finished eating long before ours even came. It was awful. So we ended up first almost starving as we waited for the food, then the two of us starved even more waiting for our "second" dish, which was also bad, although at that point we would have likely eaten cardboard. Again, the poor hostess apologized profusely and gave us complaint cards to fill out, saying that staff had been complaining about the kitchen but that it was falling on deaf ears. They comped our drinks and gave us a free dessert, which was appreciated. Felt very bad for the waitresses and hostess, as it obviously wasn't their fault. We did fill in the complaint cards as suggested, and not one of us has heard back from Best Western - obviously they simply didn't care, which is perhaps the worst part of this sad tale -- they benefit from a captive audience at the hotel and complaints fall on deaf ears.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ice_rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

The food is great but the service is very slow. Have the pizza with everything on it.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank farley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I really don't understand why this is rated the top restaurant in Cornwall. Not only does it have the ambience of a 1970s Ponderosa restaurant, the buffet food was overwhelmingly mediocre and unexciting. At those prices, I expect more. My in-laws enjoyed it, but then they like vegetables boiled to mush and meat cooked until it assumes the consistency of cardboard. The are worse restaurants in Cornwall, it's true. But why? Why is the place rated #1?!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank caberwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppermills Grill & Bakery also viewed

 
Cornwall, Ontario
 

Been to Peppermills Grill & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing