We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little bit of Britan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ye Olde English Fish & Chip

Ye Olde English Fish & Chip
Ranked #30 of 165 Restaurants in Cornwall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Little bit of Britan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Fish & Chips made to the Mother Land secrects. Excellent service, food well prepared. Cost is cheap yet well portioned value. Would go back when I want a great tasting fish n chips

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra_LynnB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    3
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ingleside, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

They have the best fish and chips in town, hands down. They would definitely get 5 stars take out food, but the actual restaurant is kinda sketchy and the decor is very drab.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trav1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“True blue English style!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is the real deal fish n chips the haddock out of this world small place great service on 1st street

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank biztravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Fish & Chips "To Go"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Food is wonderful, dining area is not. Very dated, to the point where you wonder who would actually sit in this dingy place.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robstg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Should be rated #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We live in the area and I was shocked when I seen how far down this restraunt was on the list. If you are rating on food alone this is #1. I am scottish and love the fact they make fish and chips the way I remember as a child. Even muchy peas are available and they don't look at me strange when I make my "Chip Buddy".
Now the decor and set up leaves a lot to be desired but I am there for the food not the decor. The cook is your waitress, usually a one man deal unless it is a busy time then they have 2 people. The prices are a little on the high end but you get what you pay for, good halibut and chips!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank mexbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde English Fish & Chip also viewed

 

Been to Ye Olde English Fish & Chip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing