We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, nice rooms”
Review of Fifth Wheel Truck Stop - CLOSED

Fifth Wheel Truck Stop
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, nice rooms”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stopped here after a very long drive from NS. Really good food and a good motel.Ok the rooms are not flash but well equipped and comfortable. Plenty of towels.reasonable price too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An all you can eat on weekends - but might be better off going somewhere else”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We attended the fifth wheel on a Sunday. The main attraction of the Fifth Wheel is their Brunch buffet, available on weekends.

This buffet includes pancakes, French toast, beans, salads, fruits, veggies, lots and lots of bacon and sausage, scrambled eggs (with or without vegetables), perogies and home fries.
It does NOT include coffee.

When we came in, we did not give the right amounts of attendees for our table and so had a plus one to the seats available. This seemed to fluster our waitress, yet there were many empty tables around us. To be helpful, I turned to grab one from the empty table beside us, but the waitress got upset with me as it turns out that I should have seen that it was reserved. Reserved was written on a napkin and put in the middle of their table.

The bacon and sausage is what you go there for. The pancakes were good but there were never enough and you were lucky to get some. The French toast was rather dry, and even dousing it in syrup didn’t help revive it.

My partner and I agreed that although the all-you can eat was worth the price, we will only indulge from time to time. For nearly 26$ dollars, before tip, I ate until I was unhappy, and tried to maximize how much coffee I drank to make paying 2.30$ for it worthwhile.

Next time, we’ll settle for more modest meals and 16$ total, tip included, with other breakfast places in Cornwall if we’re just looking for a morning out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleside, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Regular Truck stop”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

They are known for their buffet breakfasts, and they are decent for the price. They also have a spaghetti night that is quite good as well.

Helpful?
Thank Trav1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“nasty food”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Iordered the pizza but stressed to the waitress i only like thin crust and she assured me no problem we it must have been a problem because the pizza was mainly crust and the cook would not make another one so i left . Do yourself a favour stay away

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“huge breakfast!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

for the this truly a truckers breakfast. Food is great , the service could be better! atmosphere needs upgrade-just an opnion

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank biztravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fifth Wheel Truck Stop also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing