We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly place to stay with people that treated us like family.”
Review of First Canada Inns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
First Canada Inns
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
1 review
“Warm and friendly place to stay with people that treated us like family.”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was my first time ever staying here and I am in as of the room as well as the friendly host. I would definitely stay here again. I would also refer others to stay at the First Canada Inns. Jim was an amazing hist and they truly live up to their moto. "We treat our guests like family". If I could I would rate my experience here a 10+.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyNana4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Happy Nana4:
Thank you for giving us such a great review! Jim and Brenda are wonderful hosts who always want their guests to have a comfortable and pleasant stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    26
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
24
39
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stay at First Canada Inns at least 12 times a year. Yes there are other hotels but this is the place to stay. Large rooms,clean, great shower pressure and the owners Jim and Brenda are the nicest people.
I have been staying here for the last 6 years. And I plan to keep on staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Tom p: Thanks so much for giving us such a wonderful review. We always look forward to you staying with us. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I had a one-night stay at this inn. The room was the standard motel style room with two double beds. The room was spacious and clean. The heater worked well and the room heated up nicely. The mattress was firm and it was a very comfortable sleep. The motel is located far enough from the road that you don't hear road noise, and the train noise was very faint. All in all, a good motel to get a great night's sleep, and very convenient to the downtown core. There could be some improvements made to the decor and furniture to update them (the wallpaper was a little tattered in some spots), but minor work required.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarjoOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear SarjoOtttawa:
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review. We believe a great night sleep is why our guests return time after time, and we hope that the next time you're in Cornwall you will choose us again. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

What a terrific place to stay when you're in the Cornwall area. Quiet, large, clean rooms with practically all the comforts of home. The service was excellent. The owners Jim and Brenda were extremely helpful and friendly. The Italian restaurant next door was like the cherry on top. We enjoyed a scrumptious dinner, with wine, and walked back to our room. What could be better than that! We would love to have stayed longer, but after three nights just had to move on. Can't wait until we go back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaBudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear KaBudd:
Thank you so much for giving us such a wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We always want our guests to feel like they're at home and we're happy you felt that way. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here on our way to Maine in the US. This is a 1940's motel which was restored to its natural look, Very cozy, affordable rooms which have the modern amenities of a motel with the friendliness of the owners. We truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Lyn 3: We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back for another stay soon, and thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during my son's hockey tournament and were very close to both arenas, restaurants and shopping.
We were greeted by the owners, Jim and Brenda, who asked several times during our stay if there was anything they could help us with.
This small hotel is tucked away in a beautiful homey setting and every time we turned into the drive, we felt like we were at a bed and breakfast vacationing. A bar fridge and microwave are standard,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dero001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear dero001:
Thanks so much for the great review! Jim, Brenda and the staff always want each and every guest to have a relaxed and comfortable stay. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Excellent experience from the time we picked up the phone to book until the minute we checked out. Super friendly, helpful, caring staff and Management. We were treated like family throughout our stay. no problems with extras needed along the way and the owner, Jim was very helpful in acting as our tour guide in locating the things we were interested in finding or doing. We were in room 4 and the room was very well kept, obviously these people care about the appearance of their business, the carpets were clean, walls, windows, bedding etc were very well maintained, the heating AC unit worked great and ran quietly. We asked for extra blankets and extra pillows and had no issues whatsoever with comfort or highway noise from nearby highway 2. We were offered a dinner at a nearby restaurant with our stay and I assure you this was no Dennys/ Days Inn promotion crap. The restaurant was impeccable, great food and service, friendly staff and a very comfortable setting for a relaxing dinner for my wife and I. We highly recommend this Hotel to any travellers especially those looking for a quiet romantic break from the daily grind. We came in from Ottawa and the hotel was easy to find and very conveniently located close to Coffee, shopping, food and many other restaurants shops stores etc. Our only complaint and it isn't even really a complaint was the fireplace being off for the season, we would have gladly paid a few extra dollars for the use of it but were clearly advised it would be off at booking. Over all we are very satisfied and will be back again in the future. Thank you for your hospitality. See you again soon. Dayna/Bill Buckley, Ottawa Ontario

Room Tip: We were in room 4 but the way the Hotel is set it doesn't seem as if there could be a bad room l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaynaCharles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear DaynaCharles:
We are so grateful for the wonderful review you have written about us! It means a lot to Jim and Brenda as well as the rest of the staff to know that our guests had a wonderful stay and would return again. Thanks again for taking the time to review us! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cornwall hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Cornwall
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Cornwall ON
Super 8 Cornwall ON
#7 of 12 in Cornwall
173 reviews
0.6 mi away
Century Motel
Century Motel
#3 of 12 in Cornwall
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elect Inn 5
Elect Inn 5
#8 of 12 in Cornwall
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Canada Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Canada Inns

Property: First Canada Inns
Address: 1618 Vincent Massey Dr, Cornwall, Ontario K6H 5R6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cornwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — First Canada Inns 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your First Canada Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Canada Inns Cornwall, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing