We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
Review of First Canada Inns

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
First Canada Inns
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay here - we stayed in the room with the spa bath which was a major help in relaxing us after each tiring day chasing our kids around the area,who were on tour from Scotland! It was very quiet and peaceful. Jim and Brenda, the owners, couldn't have been more kind and helpful to us and their other guests some of whom were also friends of ours. We will definitely be going back there to stay at some point in the future.

Room Tip: The room with the spa bath Is AMAZING and SO relaxing!!!!!! 👍
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Susie T:
Thanks for posting such a great review. You were wonderful guests and we look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    26
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
24
37
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim ON
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stopped in Cornwall to visit a friend and found it was getting late. One phone call later and we were in this great spot. Clean, updated, friendly owners (and dog!).....everything one would want for a good night's sleep were there. The bed was comfortable and the linens sparkling white. There was a fridge and microwave in the room so breakfast was fast and easy. It was centrally located and a very reasonable price. We would stay here again.....no problem! Thanks for having us!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear NLK1:
You are very welcome. Please stop in again next time you 're in town and thanks for such a great review.. It means a lot to all of us here at First Canada Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holliston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Heading toward North Bay we stayed at the motel based on reviews and a Google map pedestrian view. It is in a great location, within walking (wide sidewalks going both ways) distance of good restaurants, shopping, including a grocery store. The motel proprietors, Jim and Brenda, are friendly and knowledgeable on local attractions. The room is spacious, had all the amenities (microwave/refrigerator/wireless internet), clean and everything worked. We made a reservation for the following week (last room to be available that night) since we were very happy with the first visit. Arriving, we found the reservation missing and no vacancy. Jim made no excuses, thought for a brief moment and offered his premier extra price room with Jacuzzi Tub, the bridal room at the same price. The hotel advertises that they treat guests like family and they back this up. This room was exceptionally nice and well appointed. We'll stay here for sure on the next time through.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Dale F:
Thanks for the great review. We will always provide our guests with the best possible stay that we can, and appreciate your recommendations. Thanks again, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the best motel I have EVER stayed at! The rooms are huge. The beds are comfortable. The owners are firendly and very helpful with any onfo you require about the area.
There is a very good restaurant, Peppermills, across the street at the Best Western Hotel.
We felt very comfortable and safe. This motel is near everything you may need or want and highway access to get anywhere lese is near.

Room Tip: They have rooms with a king size bed and a fireplace, or two queen size beds. We've had both, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Judy:
We truly appreciate your amazing review. It's gratifying to everyone here to know that a guest had a comfortable stay, and would recommend us. We hope to see you back next time you're in Cornwall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtice ontario canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very clean room and beautiful well kept grounds comfy bed and a quiet location
very affordable as well.
the fireplace was a nice touch but not used on this stay
only suggestion is more hangers for clothes and later check out
12 or 1pm
we would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tedi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Tedi S,
We appreciate your suggestions and will certainly take them into consideration. We thank you for taking the time to write a great review, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Alright for the price. Certainly not worth all the 5 star reviews in my opinion. Room was non smoking but still smelled like smoke. There was no soap in the bathroom for the morning shower. Bed was a little rustic as you could feel the springs poking into your back but overall it wasn't terrible considering the location and price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for work for 2 weeks. When my company booked me in, I was skeptical since small motels are rarely more than simply acceptable. This place is great. Good service, as well as clean, updated rooms. I'd recommend staying here to anyone whether they're on holiday, or in the area for work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy W, Guest Relations Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Mark:
Thanks so much for the great review. We were so happy that you and your colleagues enjoyed your time with us. We would be happy to see you again, either for work or a vacation. You were great guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwall
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Cornwall
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Cornwall ON
Super 8 Cornwall ON
#7 of 12 in Cornwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
11.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 7 in Massena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
7.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Hogansburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Canada Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Canada Inns

Property: First Canada Inns
Address: 1618 Vincent Massey Dr, Cornwall, Ontario K6H 5R6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cornwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — First Canada Inns 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your First Canada Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Canada Inns Cornwall, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing