We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No room left at that price trick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Cornwall ON
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Rockland, Canada
1 review
“No room left at that price trick”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I was stranded in the area on 27Dec12 with limited telephone battery power. I checked the internet for nearby hotel rates. Super 8 was advertising rooms on different web sites at $95, $99, as well as higher rates. I clicked the $99 per night rate and it indicated it was available (next step was asking for booking information). I then took a 45 minute taxi ride to the hotel to be told that there were no rooms available at the lower price but that I could get a higher priced room at a reduced price (when I inquired, I was told one of my association memberships qualifies me for a 10% discount). It was obvious the hotel was not that busy and certainly did not appear near capacity. I have occasionally seen this trick played at hotels who advertise lower prices as well as in recent years in Europe. Whenever I get the chance, I try to prevent hotels from using this trick by getting a quote confirmed before I arrive at the hotel which was not practical this time. I ended up paying about $15 more than the advertised rate; even though it is not an outrageous amount, I still find the practice frustrating. Customer beware. Whenever possible, do your homework and get a quote confirmation before you get to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8rep, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Cornwall ON, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is unfortunate that a single room was not available at the time you wished to check-in. There was a bad storm in the area at the time, and many of our guests had been brought in without their vehicles, others had decided to stay another night, due to the bad weather. The room type you had requested was not available. We DO NOT "trick" our guests into paying more money for a different room type, in fact, when possible we offer upgrades to a superior room, ie. a King, or executive King, much to the pleasure of our guests.
The next time you are in the area, please call our front desk directly and reserve the room of your choice and we will be happy to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    51
    40
    14
    21
See reviews for
55
49
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We were very pleased with the Jacuzzi Suite we reserved for a romantic weekend getaway. The room was spacious with a nice flat screen, and comfortable king size bed The atmosphere was very warm and welcoming. The staff were great. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyC181722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8rep, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Cornwall ON, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review on the TripAdvisor site.

We're glad you had a chance to enjoy our Jacuzzi Suite and found the room to your satisfaction. We also appreciate your comments concerning our friendly staff, we work hard as a team to ensure each and every guest receives a Super stay!

Thanks again for your kind words. We hope you call us again when you need another romantic getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice, clean, very good value for what it is,a stopover. If you need a good sleep for a night, you are safe with this choice. Comfortable, restaurants are very close, breakfast as you expect yet ok. I did enjoy the shower very much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ice_cristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8rep, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Cornwall ON, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review of our Super 8 Cornwall hotel!
We're glad you were able to have a Super night's sleep found the bed comfortable, nice shower and convenient location. We hope you'll stay with us again on your next travels this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We booked in at the Super 8 for a business trip, found the staff very friendly and the rooms very clean and beds very comfortable. Great room upgrades on the second floor - I will reserve room 220 from now on. Breakfast choices are what is expected and very well displayed.

Thank you.

Room Tip: As I said Room 220 was great - very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8rep, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Cornwall ON, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our Super 8 Cornwall hotel, and want to thank you for your review! We appreciated the fact that you mentioned the friendly staff, clean room, and comfortable bed you enjoyed in the Executive King Suite. With the large executive-style desk, business travelers like yourself are able to work in comfort. We'll be glad to book the same room for you on your next visit, thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Aimee greeted us in as efficient & friendly way as possible. She was helpful to the point of holding the Front doors for us.
Room was large and had a handy / working Fridge. in the TV cabinet.
Muslim runs a VG Front desk with interesting, (not seen elsewhere), souvenirs.
Excellent - Welcoming - Comfortable - Close to 401 stop..
THANK YOU !
Patrick ..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PATRICK D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8rep, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Cornwall ON, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review of our Super 8 Cornwall hotel!! We're glad you enjoyed the large room and found the location convenient. We'll pass your compliments on to Aimee for her excellent service. We hope we are able to serve you again soon. Thanks again for taking the time to write your comment on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Upon arrival late Sunday night (Oct 21, 2012) I was great by a very efficient and courteous staff. My unit had only been booked about 2 hours before online, yet everything was ready when I arrived. The unit was had a queen bed and it was very comfortable. The next morning the breakfast area was clean and stocked stocked. Fresh, hot waffles are a favourite of mine.

Again Check-out was very efficient and the staff person even followed up via e-mail with a correction for me with Wyndham Rewards.

The 3 "C" were met by this unit - Clean - Comfortable - Courteous.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8rep, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Cornwall ON, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your thoughts of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We're glad you found your room comfortable, enjoyed our fresh hot waffles and found the Front Desk Staff courteous. We were pleased to look up your correct Wyndham Reward # so you could collect points. It was our pleasure to serve you and we look forward to your return to our Super 8 Cornwall hotel. Thanks again for the positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
459 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Check-in was quick and friendly.

Room was modern and big, it included a king size bed (schweet) and a desk for the laptop. The bathroom was clean.

Free wifi a plus.

Check out was early-ish, but I was allowed to stretch it to 12pm.

Free parking. Tim Horton's and gas station next door.

Highway 401 is just north of the hotel, but there is little else around. The downtown is a few minutes away. Luckily the city is very small.

Would stay here again.

Vending machine has very stale snacks! Beware :)

Motels in Canada are really too expensive. Dunno why. Similar motel in the states would be $40 lower.

$100 deposit required.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whileitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8rep, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Cornwall ON, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your modern, King room at our Super 8 Cornwall hotel. We are pleased that you found the location convenient, being beside the 401. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwall
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
2.0 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 12 in Cornwall
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites Casselman
8.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Hogansburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.2 mi away
First Canada Inns
First Canada Inns
#4 of 12 in Cornwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Cornwall ON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Cornwall ON

Property: Super 8 Cornwall ON
Address: 2694 Brookdale Ave, Cornwall, Ontario K6J 5Y2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cornwall
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Cornwall ON 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located beside Highway 401, Super 8 Cornwall provides guests with comfortable accommodation at affordable prices. With an indoor saltwater pool, fitness room, executive rooms, Jacuzzi King Suites and a family suite there's a room and amenities for every traveler. Guests can enjoy our complimentary SuperStart breakfast to start their day, and use our free Wi-Fi. The Hotel was recently renovated in 2012 & 2013 guests are sure to enjoy a good night's rest. A short drive to Upper Canada Village and Calypso Theme Waterpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Cornwall ON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Cornwall Hotel Cornwall
Super 8 Cornwall ON Ontario
Super Eight Cornwall
Cornwall Super Eight
Cornwall Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing