We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfortunate”

the Grind Cafe & Espresso Bar
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Cornwall
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Description: Free WiFi, prices seem reasonable, Susan Martin, owner, great host.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unfortunate”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I was a frequent customer here when there was no other place for good coffee despite the horrendous customer service. I rarely ate there because the food is just okay. The owner is a very nice lady but her daughter is a truly unfriendly person. I went for the last time recently on a Saturday when I saw her be openly hostile to a woman who was asking about someone she was supposed to meet. I turned and left without my coffee and will not be back. There is another place up the street with amazing coffee (but it is often not open when I am in town).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victorkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    7
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The younger woman at the gride got too go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I love the coffee I love the food but I haven't been back in long time because I feel unwelcomed with the one staff member there

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vume500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleside, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

The only real coffe shop in town where you can sit down and enjoy your drink and lunch/snack. The service is good and they often have various musical acts performing. They also have local art for sale, which is great for supporting the community. They would get 5 stars except for the location - the downtown core suits their needs but you need to pay for parking which is somewhat annoying in this small city.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Trav1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“could be great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This place has great ambience and great food but one of the counter staff is so cold and kind of rude. The other staff seem fine. It's too bad because this could be a great place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pete d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
459 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Love this place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great location. Great service. The best coffee in town. Nice sandwiches too.

Been here several times and never been let down.

Free wifi is a big plus.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whileitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the Grind Cafe & Espresso Bar also viewed

 
Cornwall, Ontario
Cornwall, Ontario
 

Been to the Grind Cafe & Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing