We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoke and Mirrors”
Review of Monte Carlo Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cornwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Monte Carlo Motel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smoke and Mirrors”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Upon arrival at the Monte Carlo, I was greated at the office desk by the owner after walking through a haze of cigarette smoke. She seemed very enthusiastic about the accomodations I was being provided and, as such, I felt confident that my girlfriend and I would have a nice stay. I was unpleasantly surprised.

The room we booked was a kitchenette room and we had purchased a large amount of groceries for our 4 day trip. Entrance to the upstairs room was via what one could only call a rickety fire escape. The room did have a second entrance but the key did not work properly and the door was jammed. Opening it on any frequency was a hassle at best. We opened the refrigerator to fill it only to find that the freezer was so completely full of frost that the door would not close. We later found that everything in the refrigerator section would freeze because the freezer door remained open when the outer refrigerator door was shut.

With our food finally stored we decided to settle in to our accomodations. The furniture in the bedroom section was modest and the layout was poor. If the bathroom door was left open the television became blocked. Inside the kitchen was a bookcase that one could only describe as "slanted". We were also surprised to find a pair of used running shoes in the closet. The lamp on the one nightstand was covered in burnt plastic which is quite dangerous considering the fact that there was no battery in the smoke detector.

The kitchen section itself had two outlets for 3 appliances plus the crock pot we brought with us. The power outlet on the oven was not functional.This made cooking inconvenient. We opened the cupboards to assess the pots and pans situation and were surprised to find that the one decent sized frying pan in the room was without a handle. This inconvenience was only made worse by the fact that there were no oven mitts provided. The clock on the oven was broken and constantly flashed 12:00 without any way to remedy it, very annoying. When I finally was able to cook a meal it was a challenge to find two matching plates in the cupboard. The only two knives that matched in the silverware holder were plastic knives that were taken from a fast food restaurant.

The bathroom in the room could best be described as "ghetto". The toilet paper dispenser had broken off of the wall and had been neatly placed on the floor by housekeeping awaiting replacement. The sink was tiny with exposed piping underneath and the tap would drip if you looked at it sideways (I had to put a wet facecloth under it at night so we could sleep). The shower head height was not adjustable. I am six feet tall and the lowest spot I could get the water to hit me was on my neck. I can only imagine how difficult showering was for my girlfriend who is five foot three.

I am not quite sure how to describe the decor in the room other than to say it is "reflective" because there was not a single wall in the room that did not have a mirror on it. The windows were sealed shut with paint which made getting fresh air into the room impossible.

The one nice thing the room had going for it was the view of the St. Lawrence river from the balcony. Unfortunately there was a gang of teenagers in the next room who spent a great deal of time outside smoking which made the balcony an unpleasant place to be.

I will not be staying here again and I would suggest that you reconsider if you are thinking about visiting the area and staying in this motel. There are several other local low cost options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    4
    3
    13
See reviews for
6
6
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is our first review as we are not picky travelers and we have stayed in all kinds of places all over the world but we had to write something with regards to this motel especially if you are travelling with young children as we were.
We knew this was a budget motel but there are plenty of budget motels that are clean and family friendly. Unfortunately this motel is as far from "family motel" as you could possibly imagine.
The first room we visited for our stay showed sighs of a break in. The door had been kicked in and an attempt was made to patch it up and as you could imagine the door no longer closed properly. Inside the room the cigarette smell was overwhelming and the matresses were old and very worn. We also noticed what seemed to be some blood droplets on the wall behind the bed and a blood smear on the door frame leading out of the room (I guess house keeping missed a few spots).
We were quickly moved to our original non-smoking room. The room was much cleaner, beds seemed newer and there was no cigarette odor. As we were doing our usual bed bug check between the matresses we found the unimaginable, one hyperdermic needle and a hunting knife hidden between the matress and box spring.
We were fully refunded and apologies were expressed but we could not have departed fast enough. If one of our children had played around the matress they may have been hurt by the syringe.
We are embarassed for the management of this establishment and perhaps they are stuck with a certain clientele but seriously, a syringe and a knife under the matress!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Grecogerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cornwall hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

All the rooms are smoking. Yuck!!! Couldn't breathe. Very dated and uncomfortable rooms. The Manager who I believe is the owner as well is very sweet and Helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road
Level Contributor
338 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The motel is dated, with somewhat worn rooms and old furniture.
The rooms are clean, there is free coffee each morning, it is non smoking, and there is a kitchen in most rooms.
Great location on the river (across the road) with a dock for fishing, swimming and small boat mooring is a big plus.
Good value for what you pay.
They have senior rates, and weekly / monthly rates in season.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Tamworth, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Other reviewers made this sound like a horrible, horrible place and I disagree. It's a fine place to stay if you are on a budget. The manager said she has been there for only a few months and previous managers were non-english speakers who had their 12 year old son in charge sometimes - I can see how that would make guests feel they were not getting good treatment.
Rooms do smell of smoke. Carpets, drapes and bedding is not by any means brand new or fancy. That said, I felt safe in my room, I slept well, the manager welcomed my dog with open arms, the location is good for walking the dog, it's out of the center of town, it's inexpensive - for me it was an ideal one night stop on the way from here to there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights with a co-worker and we were very satisfied with our room. Wi-fi speed was great, room was clean, the staff was super friendly and the room was very spacious. Overall it was a much more enjoyable stay than the last time I came to Cornwall.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontario_traveller_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Booked weekend getaway with my girlfriemd based on pictures provided by motel.l went into the front office only to be greeted by fruit flies and stale smoke.Got my key,went to the room across the street and l was horrified upon entry.l found filthy carpets,furniture that was old and unstable,holes in the wall and a smell of mold and smoke.l got a refund after the desk clerk complained.Not recommended for anyone.If your blind,have no sense of smell or no moral values,then the Monte Carlo is for you.

Room Tip: check before entering or even beginning to open your wallet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank royo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cornwall hotels
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
4.4 mi away
Super 8 Cornwall ON
Super 8 Cornwall ON
#7 of 12 in Cornwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 12 in Cornwall
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
3.1 mi away
Elect Inn 5
Elect Inn 5
#8 of 12 in Cornwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
3.2 mi away
Century Motel
Century Motel
#3 of 12 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Motel

Property: Monte Carlo Motel
Address: 1700 Montreal Rd, Cornwall, Ontario K6H 1G1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cornwall
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Motel Cornwall, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing