We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop and go somewhere else!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Cornwall
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Reviewed December 31, 2012

At first we booked this hotel to save a few bucks, but as soon as we saw the place we instantly regretted it. The outside was shabby and run down and the parking lot was filthy. Our room was the last room on the back side of the building right in front of the dumpster. Too top it off there was a retarted pidgeon running around in circles outside our door. First stepping into the room was this horrible smell (ever heard of air freshener's?) then came the long outdated furnature. The beds looked filthy and were about as comfortable as sleeping on the ground. Plus we brought our own pillows in from the car because we didn't want to chance theirs. Next came the battle with the lock. The deadlock on our door would not fit into the hole, so we had to leave it with just the chain. The "breakfast" was bread with jam, and the lady at the front desk had to go into a back room to make the coffee since there wasnt one in the breakfast area. This was a horrible hotel and no person deserves the pain to have have to stay their. Do your self a favour and stay ANYWHERE else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sam b, General Manager at Howard Johnson Cornwall, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

This is a review from a guest who apparently stayed with a different name six months ago when we were not even Howard Johnson Hotel, (review is from August 2012). Now we are a Howard Johnson Hotel and we do not have any of the issues listed in the complaint. Please remove this as it will ruin our business even though we are not the same franchise or hotel. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 110 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Just took a chance on this motel while passing through from NS to Toronto. A bit outdated but fairly clean & in a very good location. A good nights sleep at a reasonable price. The 2 staff members I came in contact with were very friendly. To those whiners expecting a 12 star hotel at 1/2 star prices, this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank copper71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We ended up staying here for one night as a stopover while driving back to Toronto from Quebec. We stopped in Cornwall, but being later in the evening without a hotel booked we drove around and looked at a few places and this one looked the most 'decent'.
It is an old, run down building, really you are just paying for the room, as the hotel itself is ugly as can be and the included breakfast definitely leaves 'something to be desired'.. But the rooms were decent. Since they were out of double bed rooms, they gave us a 2 double bed room at the price of a single double bed room. The room was relatively clean, the beds were spacious and comfortable, the furniture was all mismatch but useable. There were a few things that you normally wouldn't see in a hotel room like a cardboard box under the fridge I guess to absorb the leaks.
Washroom was ok too. Had a tub, but definitely wouldn't use it for a bath. It was pretty quiet, all I heard was the neighbors TV, but not till too late.
I feel you get what you paid for and it is an ok place for a stopover on a long drive or something, but definitely not for more than a night. I guess for around $65.00 + tax, you are getting a fairly good deal on the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This motel was disgusting. The parking lot was filthy, the outside of the building had stuff splashed all over it. The bed was ancient, the room smelled, there was some type of rodent in the back parking lot. After viewing all of that we opted to leave and stay elsewhere. DO NOT even consider staying at this motel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in a room with two queen sized beds. The room was in a good condition with new mattresses. The staff at the front desk was professional. We had a good nights sleep and in the morning the free continental breakfast was great. The place is reasonably priced and it has good service. I would highly recommend it to anyone. The location of the hotel is also very good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We read the previous reviews and had our doubts about staying here. We checked out the offered room and found it small with one bed, table and 2 chairs, aircon, fresh smelling, new rug, bathroom in good shape, free WiFi in the room, lots of channels on TV, reading lamps both sides of bed, clock, bar fridge, complimentary soap & shampoo. free continental breakfast... all for $59.95... not bad in high season.

The hotel has seen better days, but it appears that they are working on it. The lobby was tired, but did not small. The inner hallway was gloomy. You can park your car outside your room's outer door. There is also an inner door which leads to the central hallway. Consider this place if you are on a tight budget. The Econo Lodge in on "the strip" leading to the USA bridge, and we would recommend you check in and then drive straight down to the river and walk/bike along the lovely park.

Room Tip: When you come off the 401 highway heading south towards the USA bridge, notice their billboard on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Me and a few friends have recently stayed in this hotel, we found it very welcoming as the receptionist greeted us will a nice warm speech. The receptionist made us feel at home, She was so sweet & helped us with every need. Our 3 night stay were Amazing as she took care of us like a Mother would take care of her children . This hotel is the place to be, sure the rooms are small but there cozy and bathroom is very nice But Small. Any problem we had the receptionist took care of it. I Honestly Like this Hotel because it's very welcoming & The Receptionist seems to make it an even better stay. She honestly deserves an Award for all the hard Work she puts into her job, She really knows how to brighten your day when your having a bad one. I highly recommend this hotel !!!
I look forward to another stay ...
Thank You Econo Lodge !!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesseVanMaurik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cornwall hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
404 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Cornwall ON
Super 8 Cornwall ON
#8 of 12 in Cornwall
190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 12 in Cornwall
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Century Motel
Century Motel
#3 of 12 in Cornwall
52 reviews
0.6 mi away
First Canada Inns
First Canada Inns
#5 of 12 in Cornwall
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Cornwall

Address: 1142 Brookdale Ave, Cornwall, Ontario K6J 4P4, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cornwall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Price Range: $63 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Cornwall 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Cornwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornwall Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Cornwall
Howard Johnson Cornwall Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing