We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs to be bulldozed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Cornwall
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Needs to be bulldozed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Other than the good price, I can not think of any reason why anyone should stay in this hotel.

At check-in there was a sign on the counter indicating that receptionist was down the hall. I went into the hall and there was no one, all the doors were closed and there was no one. I went back to to the counter and rang the bell. Still no one. Finally, five minutes later someone came to check me in.

The non-smoking room smelt like an ash-tray. The air conditioner did not work, the room was warm as it was 30 degrees Celsius outdoors. The TV was off-coloured to the red spectrum. The wall paper in the room was peeling. Cigarette butts littered the sidewalk of exterior access to the room. To get ice you need to find the receptionist as the ice machine is behind the front desk. I could go on...

The, so called, free breakfast was a joke! Serving from 7am to 9am (a small time-frame). Choice of white/brown bread. No spread was available. Fig Newtons and those tiny powder topped dry donuts were the other edibles (if you can call them that). Orange juice and coffee were the drinkables.
Hanging above the breakfast serving table was a sign indicating that if you want seconds or have a guest, a charge of $4.95 will be added to your room bill. I standing there thinking to myself that this breakfast isn't even worth $0.50 - who in there right mind is going to pay $4.95?

I would avoid this place, drive in either direction along Brookdale and find something else.

Room Tip: Avoid all together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CndTrvlr042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    20
    15
    55
See reviews for
32
31
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Catharines ON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed here April 2012. Truly terrible. Arrived at 2am after an all day drive. Message at the locked reception said if you arrive after midnight pick up the phone and it will be answered promptly. Called it and let in ring for 5 minutes - no answer. Kept trying over the course of 30 minutes. Finally answered. Dazed receptionist was either on something or had just taken something. Gave me a non smoking room that smelled of smoke. Toilet smelled like it had just been used. Awful. Woke up after 3 hours and just carried on driving - daren't even try breakfast. I would have better saving the $70 and sleeping in the car.

Room Tip: Don't do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cornwall hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Dusty and smiley feel for emergency overnight it will do brkfst yiks!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biztravel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdventureLovers
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on Feb 29th,2012 for one night.Arrived just before
a snowstorm and we were glad to be welcomed to a warm ,clean room with two double beds.
Three of us stayed for $69 which included a continental breakfast.The location was
great because there were a number of restaurants within walking distance.
The bathroom was fine but dated,however,on the morning we were leaving there
were a number of vanity tops in the hall outside the rooms,so they were making
and effort to update the bathrooms.
This place was probably the best value we have had in Canada for quite some time.
Of course,in summer the prices in the area are probably much higher. Overall,we were
pleased with the accommodations,cleanliness and value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

The room had tarnished/clouded fixtures in bathroom, live insect in bathroom, stained toilet, peeling/patched wall vinyl, drapes off the track, stained pillows, musty lobby, stained hallway ceiling, chipped stucco walls in hallway,

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

It was getting late and we had reached the point of "anything would do". It wasn't that bad; the bathroom was very outdated, no hairdryer and didn't stick around for the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsdolittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire, Netherlands Antilles
Level Contributor
187 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I stayed one night at this property. I read some reviews after checking in and it found they were in general a bit too negative. While indeed the hotel is nothing special, we found the room clean, the beds okay and the room even had a small fridge. The free continental breakfast again was not special, but decent. Have seen much worse. All in all not bad if you need a place to spend the night on the road.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonairetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cornwall hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Cornwall ON
Super 8 Cornwall ON
#6 of 12 in Cornwall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 12 in Cornwall
3.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.6 mi away
First Canada Inns
First Canada Inns
#4 of 12 in Cornwall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Century Motel
Century Motel
#3 of 12 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Cornwall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Cornwall

Property: Howard Johnson Cornwall
Address: 1142 Brookdale Ave., Cornwall, Ontario K61 4P4, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cornwall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Cornwall 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Cornwall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornwall Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Cornwall
Howard Johnson Cornwall Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing