We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service outweighs the place”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Elliot Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service outweighs the place”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The customer service makes this place acceptable to stay in.

Small room, dated and needs tables in better repair.

The saltwater pool was very nice in size and temperature for me but my wife found it slightly cool at first.
Microwave and fridge were clean and in good repair.
Bed was very comfy.

Can't complain about the location as anywhere in Cornwall is stressful to get to due to the high number of one-way streets - be warned - a GPS can be really useful in Cornwall.

Room Tip: If you like privacy, get a room on the second floor as the ground level has parking right by your pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paks D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucinda T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your comments will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    49
    55
    27
    24
See reviews for
58
68
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ogunquit, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is clean, quiet and friendly. We are vegan so cannot comment too much on the full breakfast they offered however we enjoyed toasted bagels and fresh fruit and hot water for our thermos. The bed was very comfortable with a firm mattress. At check-in, we failed to ask if our room had microwave/mini refrigerator assuming that each room offered these...our room was without both. The website for this hotel advertises a heated indoor saltwater swimming pool....the pool was empty + dry...not sure why. All the facecloths in our bathroom had black stains and strange smudge marks on them! Check your towels before you get settled! The curtain is one big black-out curtain, there is no secondary translucent curtain so either your curtain is wide open or closed and the room has absolutely no natural light. With CAA our room was around $100 which is too expensive for what we received.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is quieter than street level. Make sure you ask for mini-refrigerator and microwave...we a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zinderella510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucinda T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns about your recent stay at our hotel. i'm sorry that you were not able to experience our salt water pool, due to the renovations that are currently underway. We have taken every measure to ensure that all major booking websites including our own, advise guests that the pool is closed until May 10th, and it is unfortunate that you did not see the alert when you made your reservation. As well, the website does say that some rooms have fridges and microwaves, so if you were assigned a room that did not have one, we would have tried to accomodate you with such, had we known that that is what you would have preferred. Please accept our apologies for your less that satisifying stay , and hopefully we will have the opportunity to serve you in the future, so that you may enjoy all that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The place is clean, tidy and simple. Relatively cheap too! Waved our pet fee because they knew we'd paid it the night before at a previous Comfort Inn. Let us check in early as well. Very friendly at check-in. Ground floor, fridge and microwave. Great time all around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kayla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
149 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I travel to Cornwall on business usually every 4-6 weeks. Well I have been at this hotel better then three or four times. The rooms are from 15 years ago, everything right down to the HVAC needs to be gone through and updated. Beds are so so but clean. Bathrooms are tight and also outdated. For roughly $100 Cdn a night, not worth the price of admission. There aren't any big Holiday Inn or Hampton properties near by, so it is the small, lower class places to stay. If you can, dont stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_da_Bulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucinda T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to inform us that our accommodations didn’t meet your expectations. Your feedback will help us to provide better services, as it is our company’s aim to satisfy our customers. Although part of the hotel has been updated, we are actively working to improve additional aspects of the hotel on a regular basis, and in the future. We appreciate your comments, and value your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cornwall hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Finch, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

we are in the comfort inn because our house burnt down, we have 2 dogs and a cat in our room and the maids (room service) are great, all staff so far are fabulous and totally understanding. thanks The Slaters

Room Tip: pets are very welcome and saltwater pool is very nice. really warm at night no heat required lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucinda T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
It has been our pleasure to accommodate your family for the past several weeks. We appreciate you choosing us for your extended stay and wish you all the best for the future.
Thank you for your business, and for being the type of guests that truly make our jobs more fulfilling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my family for Christmas to visit our extended family. We stayed in a non-smoking room with drive-in access. The room was clean and it had everything in it (tv, fridge, coffee maker, microwave) that was mentioned on the website. The continental breakfast was good and consisted of bagels, toast, waffles, sausage, eggs, fruit, deserts, yogurt, muffins, cereals. coffee and juice. The woman in the breakfast area was extremely nice. I tried to get her name but I couldn't get a glimpse of it because she was zipping around the dining room so quickly. Just how pleasant this woman was cannot be described in words. She was amazing! I would return to this hotel again just for the staff ... they were great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KG0002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucinda T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so very much for the letter you sent complimenting our staff on the service you received while staying at our hotel over the holidays. We appreciate the time that you took to let us know that they are doing a great job for you.

I will be sure to pass along your kind words as it helps us when we know we have truly made a difference to those we serve on a daily basis. You are the type of customer we look forward to helping every day and make our jobs enjoyable.

Lucinda T
Guest Service Manager
Comfort Inn Cornwall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We had originally had the Jacuzzi suite booked but do you foreseen circumstances the room was not available. I The manager (Kevin) called me and informed me of the situation. He knew we needed it for a birthday party, so he offered to give us adjoining rooms for the same rate as the Jacuzzi suite(that is two rooms for the price of one).
When n we arrived the rooms were just great and all the staff was good at what they did.
The morning breakfast was great especially with five hungry children.
The waffle maker was the highlight for most of the girls.

I would recommend staying when you are in the Cornwall area.

Great job to all the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucinda T, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at our hotel. We are very sorry that we were unable to provide the suite you requested. We value and appreciate your comments, and this type of thoughtful feedback is extremely helpful and important to us in delivering the highest levels of quality and service to our valuable customers.Our reputation and success is built one stay at a time and your continued patronage is very important to us.

We know that you have many hospitality choices and hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Lucinda T.
Guest Service Manager
Comfort Inn Cornwall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cornwall
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Cornwall ON
Super 8 Cornwall ON
#7 of 12 in Cornwall
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 7 in Massena
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
First Canada Inns
First Canada Inns
#5 of 12 in Cornwall
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Century Motel
Century Motel
#3 of 12 in Cornwall
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1625 Vincent Massey Dr | RR 2, Cornwall, Ontario K6H 5R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Cornwall
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Cornwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Cornwall
Comfort Inn Cornwall, Ontario
Cornwall Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing