We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not waste your money on the expensive hotels!!”
Review of Hide Away Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hide Away Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Dryden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not waste your money on the expensive hotels!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We are a family of four driving across Canada to our new home. This motel was by far the highlight of our trip. The room was lovely and spotless, the bathtub was massive and luxurious. The owner was absolutely the sweetest and most accommodating man. The land is immaculate and he has a firepit, picnic benches and games. My daughter loved it. It was the quietest place we stayed in as well and my best sleep on the long roundtrip was here. In the morning we were treated to juice and beautiful organic food. I honestly would go to Dryden again just to stay here. Well done and thank you so much, it was exactly what an exhausted mother needed!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hughes-martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
12
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nieuweschans, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hide Away Motel and the room was specious and very clean.
The beds were comfortable and the furniture was really nice.
We loved the Apple TV.
We also enjoyed the BBQ and the fire pit in the evening.
The breakfast was good with a lot of choice , included organic .
VERY GOOD.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinyNieboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Hide Away Motel on a trip around the Great Lakes from Manitoba to Georgian Bay. We were very pleased with the accommodations. Located on the highway but set back from the road, it was quiet. We found our room clean, comfortable and surprisingly large for a roadside motel. There was air conditioning powerful enough to cool the room quickly when we turned it on. The owner was very hospitable and helpful. We are early starters on a driving day so were gone before the 7:30am start for the breakfast, but it sounded great with plenty of choice including organic. We would definitely stay at the Hide Away on another occasion.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willow1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emo, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were in Dryden to work at the recent Quarter Horse show and were put up at the Hide Away Motel. We were hesitant at first since we had never stayed there and have had some bad experiences with roadside motels. We were pleasantly surprised at the rooms and very happy with the customer service we received while there. When we checked into the room the gentleman that greeted us was very helpful and explained to us what all comes with the room. We had water, apple juice and apples in our room every morning. We didn't get to use the continental breakfast because we were up and gone before it started but we did get to order the free pizza from Dominos that was included in the room. It was so nice to get back from working at the horse show and the staff had ordered the pizza and placed it in our room for us. We also thought it was a nice touch to have a picnic table and a bonfire outside that we could use as well as a barbecue. We didn't get a chance to use these amenities but we certainly thought they were a nice touch. With all the choices of chain hotels out there it is hard to compete but his motel was definately better than staying at a chain. You just don't get service like that in those places. I would highly recommend staying there when in or travelling through Dryden.

Room Tip: We stayed in 103 and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is the ace of diamonds in the motel deck of dryden as far as i can tell. Stayed hear for a night upon arrival in town and the co-owner Erwin was the most accomadating man ive met. He picked me up from the bus station and even drove me to work in the morning! Top notch, charming man. The rooms and bed are clean and cozy. Youll be set to go with free apple tv and netflix on a nice decent sized flat screen. There is a free continental breakfest that is relatively extensive and delicious. The best motel ive ever stayed at.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freechicks M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunder bay
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The HideAway is a pleasure to stay overnight or for the week. The owners have taken great care to provide clean upgraded rooms with all the necessary amenities (coffee,fridge,flat screen TV,nice furniture etc.)There is some highway noise but that's to be expected at a roadside motel.This is a good place to land.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geosizmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosslyn
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Of all the places we have stayed in Dryden, this one is THE gem! A happy owner with an entrepreneurial attitude - clean and comfortable accommodations - and small surprises make this motel a "10". Not the newest, or the fanciest, but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ideasculptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dryden hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dryden Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Dryden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riverview Lodge
Riverview Lodge
#2 of 11 in Dryden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dryden
1.2 mi away
Timberland Motel
Timberland Motel
#10 of 11 in Dryden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hide Away Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hide Away Inn

Property: Hide Away Inn
Address: 700 Government St, | RR # 1, Box 15, Site 134, Dryden, Ontario P8N 0A2, Canada (Formerly Hide Away Motel)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kenora District > Dryden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Dryden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hide Away Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hide Away Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hide Away Inn Dryden, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing