We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hide Away Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hide Away Inn
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dryden
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I like to support local business whenever tripadvisor ratings indicate an independent hotel might be a good bed. I felt the previous reviews were a bit misleading on the Hide Away Motel in Dryden, Ontario.

The good:
Shaw cable service for the TV.
WIFI that worked with great speed!
I liked that they offered a Barbecue and a picnic table!

The bad:
Breakfast not being offered until 8 am. As we had an 11 hour drive ahead of us, that was too late a start, so we missed breakfast.
The plastic mattress covers made the poor quality double mattresses feel even worse.
I can live with the red shag carpet!

I would try another hotel or motel next time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CagaryFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin H, Owner at Hide Away Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for writing your review. The plastic mattress covers are there to protect the mattresses that they don,t get dirty. They are a good quality mattress,and not a POOR quality.We spent a long time finding the right mattress that suits our standard, en we only bought high end quality mattresses that also includes a sleep number bed..But I know that we can not please everybody but we keep trying.
We did also put high end furniture in the room.Only in the weekend th complimentary continental breakfast starts at 8 am.
I'am sorry that you did not had the homy feeling, we work so hard for to make every customer
feel at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    15
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
12
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2012

staying here long term for work right now 4+ weeks and i have had nothing but an enjoyable stay, the rooms are very clean and the owners are very friendly. HDTV's in every room along with a bottle of water and some fruit, and the beds OH...... let me tell you about the beds, I've stayed in well over 30+ hotels while working around the province and these are by far the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mClarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine River, Mb
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

I tend to agree with jimbo1257... this place was adequate, but not outstanding. We were travelling with our dogs so didn't expect to get the best room at the inn. It was all clean, but the furniture and decor were pretty dated, and the brown towels are offputting. Really didn't like the "communal margarine" at breakfast with other people's toast crumbs in it! All in all though, it was cheap, clean and convenient.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin H, Owner at Hide Away Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. When the reservation was made,I did asked what kind of room you wanted.You wanted a simple room because you had dogs with you.
I gave you the opportunity to book a different room, but it was only to get some sleep.This room is the ONLY basic room we have at our motel. The rest of the rooms are Business Class Rooms or Deluxe rooms.
We will change the butter because I think your are right,so I will
get little butter cups.(thank you for your comment.)

I do hope that we will see you again, so you can see what else our motel has to offer.
Again, thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This family run motel is cozy, clean and comfortable, providing both great beds and pillows.

We stayed 1 night en route to Winnepeg. We were delighed to find such amenities as complimentary continental breakfast, wifi that was the best we had experienced in our 5 days of travel, complimentary snacks waiting for us in our room and the availability of a propane BBQ and picnic table where we were welcome to enjoy our dinner.

If we had been travelling for business, we would have definitely been appreciative of the large desk, good task lighting and erganomically designed chair that was in our room.

The Hulshof family couldn't have been any more welcoming. If you are not committed to staying in one of the chain motel/hotels, the Hide Away is good choice in Dryden.

Room Tip: The number of good restaurants, in Dryden, appears to be somewhat limited so if the weather is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmblesideInn-Host
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This was an excellent place to stay, recommended by the locals it is an excellent choice and well priced. This is a hidden haven just a 2 minute walk from Walmart and a Timmies. The rooms we’re well maintained and clean with everything you expect to find at a hotel, coffee maker, fridges, comfortable beds, flat screen TV’s, and the fastest wireless internet. The management was awesome and exceeded our expectations, a definite A+ in customer service.
If you are in the area and traveling and looking for a good place to stay for the night I highly recommend stopping here. They have a website with accurate pictures and are pet friendly. It’s an excellent value and a good place to stop and lay your head

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin H, Owner at Hide Away Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Thank you for writing your review.We enjoyed reading it. We promis to continue our effort to make the Hide Away Motel a pleasant place to stay for our customers. It was a pleasure having you as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I don't understand why this place is so highly rated in other reviews. It was clean enough and the bed was comfortable but the furnishings and amenities were old and the room had a very low-rent feel to it. The breakfast was very basic but the coffee was good. I would say that with this motel you get what you pay for...barely.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin H, Owner at Hide Away Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
I'm sorry to read that you did not like the room, but I have to respond to this review.
The amenities and furiture in the room are not old.(New bathroom, new 32" HD tv, new fridge, microwave,new flax marble computer desk, new leather chairs and new deluxe bed.
The only thing that was not new are the headboard and night stand. But, because we care about our customers and we want them to feel at home, we change those as well.

For breakfast, there is a verity of cereals, toast, waffles, juices, fruit, coffee and tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Choosing a motel on a long drive doesn't usually result in much of a choice. Your tired, you see a motel, the price is reasonable, it's clean enough and you're outta there the next morning...

Once in a while, your kind of impressed enough to take the time to write a review. Based on reading the previous reviews, I can see how others feel the same way.

Super-Clean, Super-Friendly, Super-Comfortable Bed, Super-Peaceful (on the outskirts of town), Super-Affordable AND a nice little breakfast to go along with the rest. PLAN TO STAY HERE IF YOU NEED A REST PASSING THROUGH... you'll be glad you did!

Room Tip: Any room here would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwin H, Owner at Hide Away Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We will try our best continuously to provide the best service to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dryden hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Dryden Hotel & Conference Centre
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Dryden
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dryden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Riverview Lodge
Riverview Lodge
#2 of 11 in Dryden
36 reviews
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
1.2 mi away
Timberland Motel
Timberland Motel
#10 of 11 in Dryden
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hide Away Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hide Away Inn

Property: Hide Away Inn
Address: 700 Government St, | RR # 1, Box 15, Site 134, Dryden, Ontario P8N 0A2, Canada (Formerly Hide Away Motel)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kenora District > Dryden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Dryden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hide Away Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hide Away Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hide Away Inn Dryden, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing