We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good meal”
Review of Johnny bistro - CLOSED

Johnny bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian, Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
868 reviews
594 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“A good meal”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This restaurant has been around for quite some time, but this was our first visit. A nice little local place with a distinctly rural feel. The service was pleasant but very slow. The chicken wings were huge. I think they were actually thighs. The rib steak was cooked to order, but although advertised as 12 oz, it could not have been more than 6 to 8 oz, being really thin. The fries were very good. I only scored it three stars because I just couldn't bring myself to give it four. However for a rural style cafe/restaurant in the heart of Markham it was pretty good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    32
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best food & service in Markham”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Unbelievable service from this establishment.... especially the home made soup, different ever time we go in

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank workerbee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
109 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood bistro”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

5 of us went for dinner. Was not our first visit and will not be our last. If you are going for dinner on the weekend, suggest you book reservations as the restaurant is not big and fills up fast. In the summer, the have an enclosed patio which increases the seating capacity. We have had a few of the pastas, the chicken and goat, the steak, fish, bruschetta, veal sandwich, chicken fingers over the years and all were good.

service is also always good. A hidden Markham gem!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GusToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Over the years, the location of Johnny Bistro's has been occupied by one restaurant after another... always closing not too long after opening. So, when Johnny's opened a few years ago, I expected the same fate... open and then closed! How thrilled I am to report that Johnny's is still in business and not only just "in business", but thriving! Johnny's has become a family favourite and for all happy occasions (birthdays, anniversaries, graduations and even a daughter's wedding rehearsal dinner on the patio), not to mention a must when visitors from out of town drop by... Johnny never disappoints. Service is quick and friendly; food is always plentiful and delicious; Greek night is always fun and I look forward to trying out their new patio soon. My advice to anyone driving through the Markham area is to take a moment to drop by Johnny's and enjoy a wonderful meal and a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“VERY OBVIOUS WHY JOHNNY BISTRO IS TOP- RATED BY LOCALS”
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We know from years of experience eating here that this is a local favorite. Voting results have been documented in local papers. Owner is always gracious, outdoor patio (in season) is uniquely charming and beautifully decorated with flowers and plants and often has live music on certain nights. The saganaki is the best in the Toronto area. The lunch special is always terrific value. All food and staff here have always been awesome. You will not be disappointed here. Owner supports breast cancer fund raising efforts and is a respected local icon. His family has been in the restaurant business for decades and know how to do it right.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheLifeguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing