We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, food & reasonable prices”
Review of Pickle Barrel

Pickle Barrel
Ranked #226 of 650 Restaurants in Markham
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 704 helpful votes
“Great service, food & reasonable prices”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We been here a few times and have never had a bad experience. We went this month with mum and our server was Jeff - he service was so good that I had to write this review. He very personable and great at what he does. Thanks for making our meal so pleasant Jeff!

The food was tasty, as always, and they were willing to accomodate dietary requirements with what we ordered. I wouldn't order the milkshake (didn't have it this time around, but have had it in the pass) - it looks impressive when it comes, but most of it is whipped cream - more of the shake would be nice. My husband always orders the Spanish Paella which he enjoys. I've got the quesadillas a couple of times that are pretty tasty. Desserts are a generous size and they seem to have something for everyone's taste.

They've recently updated the restaurant and so it doesn't look outdated as it did before. They have a lovely patio, though it's a shame about the car park view. Overall it's a great family restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank foreverblended
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    44
    39
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, great service.”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This restaurant has a very diverse menu. As we were eating you could smell their delicious deserts being made....mmm waffles.
Also, kid friendly with a children's menu & high chairs

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smile2000star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor quality”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The bacon was left out of my salad, the dressing was left out of my friend's salad. What can I say?! The spinach left us with a unpleasant sensation on the tongue. Mediocre food at high price. Highly unsatisfactory.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Way too much salt on absolutely everything !!!”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was the first time we visited an outlet of this chain. It will be the last time. Ordered a rack of ribs and the meatloaf dinners. Everything was salted to the point where it actually hurt your lips. (Granted, we watch salt intake at home and seldom use it so maybe we're overly sensitive). When asked how our meals were by our waiter, we indicated they were less than satisfactory. His response: He walked away with a shrug. We left most of the food. Paid. And got out of there. There was so much salt that even our diet cokes tasted salty....alas, the water we asked for and which was promised to appear shortly never did appear.
Never again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WayneinCollingwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 979 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The food is bad the service is terrible the wait staff are more interested in socializing with each other than they are in serving customers. The prices of the items on kids menu are good but and our children love the milkshakes there but the low quality food, slow and rude wait staff are a really turn off.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank GrantFamilyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pickle Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Pickle Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing