We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“almost perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frankie Tomatto's

Frankie Tomatto's
Ranked #4 of 632 Restaurants in Markham
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: From Finch Subway Station, Take the #53 Bus to Steeles and Woodbine Ave. Walk 5 minutes north to Frankie Tomatto's.
Description: Frankie Tomatto's All You Can Eat Italian Feast is a landmark dining destination, just minutes north of Toronto, in Markham, Ontario. A giant Leaning Tower of Pisa welcomes you to dine in one of our 10 unique rooms and a piazza with 14 different food stations. Our 100+ item Italian Buffet is always cooked right in front of you in small batches to ensure fresh, hot and tasty food. Bring your appetite, because at Frankie's... Its Always All You Can Eat!
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The exterior architecture was amusing. It has an imitation of "Leaning tower of Pisa, " adjacent to the restaurant, paying homage to Italy and it's food. Interior décor was also beautiful with European style flair. There was a big selection of pasta, salad, bread, pizza, soup, seafood and dessert. I really enjoyed the Bolognese sauce on spaghetti with meatballs. It's a family friendly restaurant and customer service is impeccable! The servers here are attentive and hard workers! The only thing they can improve on, is probably to make sure that the plates and utensils are clean. I came across a couple of times, plates smudged with left over food or desert. And by the way, if you want to learn Italian, just come and use the women's washroom, they have a lesson on Italian language. We'll come back, if we are in the area again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ROADK21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankies123, Guest Relations Manager at Frankie Tomatto's, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review on our food and service! You are absolutely right, cleanliness is and should be our top priority! We will review our procedures and hope that you will see the difference on your next visit!! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    183
    91
    34
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

The quality and variety of food is very good. I would rate everything perfect except the courtesy of some of the staff. They refused to give me a different table because they like to fill in some tables first. I wished I had the table I wanted, so my experience would be excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankies123, Guest Relations Manager at Frankie Tomatto's, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the food at Frankie's! sorry we couldn't accommodate your specific seating request as on Sunday night's it can be quite busy here at Frankie's and perhaps the tables were already reserved. In the future, give us a call and make a reservation and we would be happy to take your seating request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cannot fault the lunch experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Restaurant located in Markham. Had lunch there on Thanksgiving Monday, and their buffet lunch was great, with an extensive choice of various foods from salads to pizzas to roast to desserts.
Our waiter Adrian was fantastic and very helpful. The external design of the restaurant was fantastic, and even the interior design makes you feel you are in Italy...Go there and enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank delimak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankies123, Guest Relations Manager at Frankie Tomatto's, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
So glad you celebrated Thanksgiving with us at Frankie Tomatto's. Adrian has been with us for many years(and we hope for many more)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“More than a Restraunt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This would probably have to be one of the coolest restraunts I have ever been to. Great food and service. I highly recommend this restraunt because of its heavy Italian theme and the way they make the restraunt look like a village in Venice. Really Cool Stuff :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ADN0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankies123, Guest Relations Manager at Frankie Tomatto's, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Glad to hear that the Frankie Tomatto's experience was a fun one for you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“its ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

we visited frankie tomatos today. we come probably once a year. the service is always excellent and the servers friendly, it was not very busy which is surprising to me as in the past there would always be wait time for a table, especially around lunch hour. the food today i found to be very salty. limited selection from previous yr visits. quality lacking. it was just ok.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peapod2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankies123, Guest Relations Manager at Frankie Tomatto's, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for the feedback, it helps us improve. You didn't mention when it was that you were here, however, date suggests that it was over the Thanksgiving weekend. We served over 2300 people this past Saturday and Sunday alone. We have also expanded our offering over the years. However, we are very sorry that you found the food salty and will go over the recipes with our chefs to make sure the salt quantities are appropriate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie Tomatto's also viewed

 

Been to Frankie Tomatto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing