We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bluestone revisited”

Smash Kitchen & Bar
Ranked #3 of 640 Restaurants in Markham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Warden & Hwy. 7
Description: At Smash Kitchen and Bar, we provide an upscale casual atmosphere accompanied by comfort cuisine. We are proud to join the Unionville community where you can join us for a business lunch, family get together or a night out with friends. We are open seven days a week for lunch, dinner, late night dining and Brunch. At Smash, you will always feel like you are dining in style with friendly and efficient service. Our chef and his kitchen staff prepare quality food made with the freshest ingredients, and our courteous staff will make you feel at home while you dine. Enjoy The Lounge while watching the latest sports events on several of our flat screen televisions. Our Lounge offers our full menu and service, featuring Craft Beers on Tap & our Signature Cocktails.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
868 reviews
594 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Bluestone revisited”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The old Bluestone Bistro has reopened as Smash, presumably under new management. The decor and layout has hardly changed so this visit was not much different from the last. We found it slightly gloomy, but that was likely in part due to the fact that the place was almost empty.

Service was excellent, from the initial friendly greeting at the main entrance to the efficient professional server at our table. We had a pizza and a burger. Both were very good. This is a nice road house style restaurant providing good food and good service. Nothing exceptional but quite pleasant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    105
    24
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
109 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“2 very different experiences at Smash”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our first visit was dinner as a couple at Smash. We were seated at a booth and ignored for 20 minutes. The wait staff seemed to be just gathering and were socializing in a group. We had to call someone over to take our order. The waiter appeared annoyed to be taken away from his socializing. While we were there a group of young men came in and sat in the booth in front of us. They were obviously friends of our waiter as our waiter went right over to start chatting and took their order quickly. We ordered a burger and the chicken sandwich. Food was nothing to write home about and our conclusion was that we would not return.

Recently, I went for a business lunch at Smash with a large group and our experience with the service and food was totally different from the first dinner. Our waitress was attentive and the food was great. I had the shrimp salad special and it was delicious. Others had pizza and pasta and everyone enjoyed their meal.

Because of these very different experiences, I have rated them as average in general...balancing the bad with the good experience.

So, not sure if the first visit was not truly reflective of their service or if the lunch was. Would I go back now? Maybe for lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GusToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham
Level Contributor
203 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

What can I say! Excellent hostess at the door. Friendly and inviting. Great service, attentive but not over powering. Fabulous food!! Prices are reasonable. Just a little more than the average road house like Kelsey's but the food is 2 levels higher! Menu offers salads, burgers, pizza and pasta but with a twists that are very tasty.

You have to look for this restaurant. It is tucked in a corner of a plaza off of Hwy 7 E near Village Pkwy and Kennedy Rd. Well worth the time to seek it out!!! This is only it's 2nd month of operation so lets make it survive!! It would be a shame to see this restaurant disappear.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bearthoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Phenomenal service and great food.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had a function at the Hilton Suites and took a group of 30 to Smash Kitchen for dinner. The service was unbelievable - and on a Sunday night to boot. My guests constantly mentioned to me how great Jason, the GM, and his staff were taking care of us. I had some of the best ribs I ever had the appetizers and desserts we amazing. The food not only tasted great but the presentation was great too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadaOntarioGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude & disappointing service!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Had dinner with my boyfriend & a good friend at Smash on May 14th. Very disappointed with the terrible service & treatment we received. For the most part, we were ignored. After being seated at a booth, we were left sitting there for 20 min. No one bothered to ask if we wanted drinks, let alone order dinner! It wasn't even busy, being a week night. For whatever reason, we felt like they didn't want to serve us. When my friend went to pay for the bill by credit card at the bar, again no one really wanted to help. Been to this restaurant at least 5 times before because of the great food & service, even booked a private room. Will never eat here again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EWong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smash Kitchen & Bar also viewed

 
Unionville, Markham
Markham, Ontario
 
Richmond Hill, Ontario
 

Been to Smash Kitchen & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing