We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great alternative to Toronto downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Markham
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great alternative to Toronto downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

About 20 minute drive to downtown Toronto. Surrounded by many food options. Staff was friendly and extremely helpful with restaurant options. Extremely clean. Didn't want a large breakfast for the 3 mornings we were there - found plenty of other options within less than a 10 minute drive - Panera, Startbucks, Tim Hortons.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank baseballfantoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddN249, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello and good morning.
Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a survey about your recent stay. I am glad that we were able to exceed your expectations when you stayed with us. I agree that we are a great alternative to downtown. There are plenty of things to do around our Hotel – in addition to plenty of great malls within driving distance. We are very close to Hwy 404 (or the Don Valley Parkway) and it is just a short drive to downtown if you wanted to catch a baseball game. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    206
    57
    21
    10
See reviews for
174
108
33
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were there for a wedding recently. The hotel is newly rennovated, however they took out all the baby changing centres in all the washrooms on the ground floor. They only thing they suggested was that we use the sink counter in the gym facilities - yuck and tight small spot to put a toddler. Not a pleasant experience. Nor, a good place to take your babies if you're going out for dinner, lunch, brunch...anything. The fact that they took out (meaning they used to exist) the baby change centres seem to indicate they do not want the business of families with babys or little kids. Not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yabey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddN249, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for the inconvenience you encountered changing your child in our facilities. We will keep your comments in mind as we constantly evolve to best meet our guests needs and we hope you will return to stay with us the next time your family is in the area and let us know how we are doing.

Thank you very much for staying with us.

Todd M. Noftall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Hilton Garden Inn made me feel like I was at home and not away at business. The room facilities were great and the room clean. The service from the front desk, to restaurant staff, to maid service was awesome. The check in and check out experience was seamless, never had an issue and the staff made it easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Rose V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddN249, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to compose a review for our Hotel. I am so happy to hear that your stay was "seamless" (to use your words). We truly believe in making our Guests feel like they are at home. This is not just a motto or catch phrase for us. This is something that we strive for and I am glad that we were able to make your stay a memorable one.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Todd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
331 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Convenient to Thornhill and easy highway access to Toronto. Room was consistent with Garden Inn standards, roomy, comfortable, clean and complimentary wi-fi. The breakfast and room deal is worthwhile. The 'customer service' is not quite a good as other Garden Inn's we've stayed at but is good.

Room Tip: We were in a room furthest from the elevator on a top floor (as we requested.) Unfortunately there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank es7109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravenhurst, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is my hotel of choice when I visit Markham or North Toronto. The staff are always friendly, professional and fun. Great salt water pool, bed is very comfortable and I always feel secure when travelling alone. I definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel was very well kept and pleasant for accommodating business associates for meetings in the lounge. The room was well maintained and all aspects of it was above average. The staff were very knowledgeable, welcoming, and helpful to answer any of my questions during my stay in Toronto. The taxi service was accessible all times which made the stay very convenient for meeting purposes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddN249, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello and good afternoon. I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your kind words and compliments about our Team Members and Hotel. I am glad that we were able to make your stay an enjoyable one. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I booked two rooms for one night and had an email confirmation that they were guarantee non smoking....once we arrived we were given two SMOKING rooms that stunk horribly. All night long I could't sleep due to my asthma! It was a horrible stay. Upon check out we told them and they took 65 dollars off from the almost 180 dollar a night room! To us that is NOT good enough. Hilton does not understand what a guarantee means!! To put a non smoker with asthma in a smoking room is like giving a diabetic a supposed sugarless pie FILLED with sugar!! Shame on you Hilton!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VESUVIOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddN249, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. I always appreciate hearing from our guests - including items of opportunity. I sincerely apologize that we were unable to accommodate your reserved room type. Our front desk department goes through a lengthy process each day to ensure that our guests receive exactly the room expected, however at times we do not have the same availability due to guests extending their stays with us. Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience and do hope that the next time you travel to the area you will consider staying with us again. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel directly.

Thank you,
Todd M. Noftall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Markham hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Markham
2.2 mi away
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Courtyard Toronto Northeast/Markham
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Toronto
2.9 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham
Address: 300 Commerce Valley Dr E, Markham, Ontario L3T 7X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Markham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Markham
#3 Business Hotel in Markham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham Hotel Markham
Hilton Garden Inn Markham
Hilton Markham
Markham Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing