We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to HGI Standards” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Markham
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, AB
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not up to HGI Standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is my first time at this HGI (I stay at them frequently for work) and it is not up to the standards of a typical HGI.

First my corporate rates was wrong $60 higher than it shoud be and did not include breakfast as the Corporate agreement stipulates.

Check-in was easy and uneventful, room is average shows some signs of age.

The Bar needs a serious clean (you see a swarm of fruit flies everytime they go near one area behind the bar) and better customer service (offered everyone else in the lounge a salty snack but never offered to me, also I had a coupon for a free drink at this location that stated "does not include Deluxe Spirits but includes all Premium, everything other than standard brands - Smirnoff, Crown etc was considered deluxe and I was told Deluxe and premium were the same).

All in all I think the nearby Holiday Inn is much better.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheels30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    201
    57
    21
    10
See reviews for
169
106
33
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

A spacious room with all the necessary conveniences: fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryer, free wireless high-speed internet. The room was very quiet, with no plumbing noises, nor anything from hallways or adjoining rooms. The AC was a bit noisy. Very helpful and friendly staff. Under $100.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the ice machine - they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

this is a great hotel for business stays. Close to the major highways and right next door to a plethery of wonderful restaurants from high end stakehouse (Baton Rouge) to plain pita wraps and deli's. Breakfast, dinner and super!

A beautiful lobby and the staff are efficient and courteous. Rooms are clean, showers have good no great pressure and the hot water is really hot and cold water is very cold.

The TV is good quality however as with most hotels the remote is basic and info on programming is minimal.

Room Tip: Higer floors away from the elevators are my preference and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canayjun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just stayed there for 3 nights. A very nice and clean hotel. Helpful staff, pretty large and clean rooms, comfortable beds. We did have a problem with a very rowdy group of teenage boys that stayed on our floor -- the hotel manager unable to calm them down let us sleep that night in another room on a different floor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Potown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Check in was super smooth. Cookies were plentiful. Staff gave me two complimentary bottles of water. Parking was free. The hotel is a bargain, very cheap rate. The room was big and the cooling system quiet and effective.

The hotel is all about service and making the customer happy. At breakfast, everything was prepared quickly, coffee refills were quick. At dinner, service was excellent. The waiter was very kind, giving compliments that one often misses when not at home. It is really nice when someone says "I hope to see you tomorrow", it makes all the travel seem more like home.

Excellent staff, beautiful hotel. Location is a bit outside of Toronto, but the price makes it just right!

Room Tip: Even the room I had by the elevator was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alm5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at several hotels in this hotel district and this is the best value by far: Spacious rooms, free wifi, splendid pool, jacuzzi and gym, which no one but us used, and excellent hot breakfast. Staff were helpful and accommodating to our requests, such as allowing us to change rooms after a slight mishap. The kids really enjoyed the stay. A short drive to dozens of restaurants or highway, and 20 minutes to Wonderland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gngottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We frequently stay at Hilton Garden Inns. This one was particularly clean and comfortable. It's the first one we've visited in Canada. Staff was friendly and professional. Good parking and multitude of restaurants within walking distance. It's nice to have a room with enough floor space for a yoga mat. Nothing to complain about here. We didn't use the spa or visit the on-site restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dw4345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Markham hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Markham
2.3 mi away
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Toronto
2.9 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Toronto Northeast/Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham
Address: 300 Commerce Valley Dr E, Markham, Ontario L3T 7X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Markham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Markham
#3 Business Hotel in Markham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham Hotel Markham
Hilton Garden Inn Markham
Hilton Markham
Markham Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing