We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monte Carlo... Markham-style” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Markham
Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Monte Carlo... Markham-style”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

So, once again I am in the Vaughan-Markham area for work. This time I wanted to keep my expenses to a minimum, and the 2-night rate here was very good, excellent in fact. Plus they have free wireless, albeit on a non-encrypted network (don't view any personal/banking info!).

For that reasonable expense, you get what you should: a clean room, decent TV, hot shower, parking. They advertise their meeting spaces heavily in the hotel, so maybe they are OK too.

There were some issues with the vending machine (which sold toothpaste and toothbrush for $7) or $9 if you count the loonies this thing eats...

Other than a crappy vending machine, everything was to be expected, and with no ugly surprises which is great; I have no complaints. Would I bring my girlfriend here? No. Would I take a vacation here? No. But when I'm in Vaughan-Markham and need a "place to crash" after a long day in one of our area manufacturing plants, this place feels about right.

Room Tip: Get the cheapest online rate, and enjoy the averageness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    53
    38
    13
    21
See reviews for
43
52
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Bed: 4--good size, firm
Room: 4--good size, quiet. I had the executive suite which was almost a real suite; the anteroom was small. The desk in the anteroom was fair sized but crowded in. However doable
Bath: 3.5 Good size, adequate shelf space, nice bath tub except mine was broken and no one available to fix the mechanical stopper at 10 pm. Found a work around
Lighting: 2.5: Horrible CFCs make your skin look terrible
Workout Room: 2: a few machines, small, no free weights, hot; the do it all machine was incomprehensible without a manual
Restaurant: 2.5 but could have been a 4 or 4.5 without too much investment or effort: poor lighting; cont. breakfast included but don't go if you have gluten problems--everything is wheat. Egg plat $3.00 extra--and so if you've had your quota of eggs that week and have a problem with gluten, well, you're in bad shape. Horrible morning loud drive time chat radio station. I asked for it to be turned down a little 3 times, got a 'yes' each time--but no action. After 10 minutes, I just had to get out of there. Terrible lighting and the gross plastic flowers should be ripped out and replaced--atmosphere would be 10X better. Dinners: food was surprisingly good ()for this "Best Western" class of hotel, with a wide variety. But the setting didn't do justice to the food. Not a place to take a client--that's for sure.
Location: NA. If you need to be at this location, it's the right place. If you don't, well, you are out in the boonie suburbs
TiP: This is a $65 CN cab ride and about 30 minutes from Pearson Airport. Take that into consideration if when you choose between cab and renting a car. I'll rent next time, I think.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one! Get an Executive Suite or better if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We used this trip as a getaway for a night. Beautiful brand new hotel with friendly staff. Only problem was finding a pizza place that could deliver, but the front staff was very helpful with that too. no problems at all. Breakfast in the morning was simple but good.

Room Tip: jacuzzi suites are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dasani48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is the third time staying there @ Monte carlo inns .. It's a new place .. good service.. free breakfast .. work out gym , pool was so nice ..
Initially we want to book the place for the reception , but it the whole place was booked .
Since it's a year old .. you can expect everything will be new .. It's close to Amex and also good eating joints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank balkimn1174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

All rooms are in excellent condition and all have nice beds.. lots of Hot water... the top up breakfast is very reasonable... ir there is an excellent continental breafast included, free paper delivery and the internet was very easy to connect to.

Room Tip: All rooms are in excellent condition and all have nice beds.. lots of Hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

The staff at this hotel are very helpful, especially Dean. Everyone went out of their way to assist me. The meeting room was spacious, bright and professional. My room was lovely and clean and the restaurant had a great menu and good food. I would defnitely go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Horrendous. Atrocious service, met with disdain for purchasing from Priceline. double beds unavailable because of overbooking. No non-smoking rooms, was offered for a "freshening" of the room, but then it was included in the check-out price.
Unpleasant experience. Manager chided us for purchasing from Priceline, said that they could get much more if we "would just leave".
This has very much dissuaded me from using Priceline again.
Will blacklist this hotel from all of our companies/subsidiaries future stays in Markham.

Room Tip: Just check in without speaking to the disdainful employees. Request a non-smoking room. disgusting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosalinda_belina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Markham hotels
2.8 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham
1.3 mi away
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Toronto Northeast
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Markham
1.1 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham

Property: Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham
Address: 8900 Woodbine Ave, Markham, Ontario L3R 5K6, Canada (Formerly Monte Carlo Inns Markham)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Markham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monte Carlo Inn - Toronto Markham™ hotel was designed and built to provide guests with the ultimate in luxury, comfort and value. Conveniently situated in the heart of the high-tech capital of Canada and nestled just north of Highway #7, our hotel in Markham, Ontario is close enough to where you need to be, but far enough to make us a welcoming oasis. With three major highways in close proximity and shopping districts, Angus Glen Golf Course, and a host of local restaurants and attractions minutes away, our location and quality will pleasantly surprise you. Because Markham is known as a hub for business activity, our hotel caters to both the business and leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Inns Markham Hotel Markham
Monte Carlo Hotel Markham
Monte Carlo Markham
Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing