We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Markham
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place for a short stay”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Nice place to stay, found it strange that the front desk is not at the main entrance. Nice room ,friendly staff, breakfast included. Would stay again. Good food in the restaurant.Pool was closed when we were there

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    62
    38
    14
    22
See reviews for
46
55
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

A relatively new hotel which offers a very friendly smile from reception to housekeeping.

Rooms are extremely comfortable with all the usual facilities available and and a good sized screen for those of you are insomniacs!

There was ample space in the parking lot if you're bringing your own car.

The pool is a little small but I guess for a weekend stay its sufficient.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the parking lot are quieter. Make sure you book in advance as they get a lot of booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MahmoodUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

In August, 2011, I arrived with reservation at the Monte Carlo Inns, Markham, Ontario, with pre-arranged late check-in, the Night Duty Staff at the front desk was extremely impolite when asked why a mistake like this would happen with advance notification to the Reservation and he treated me and my wife impolitely, and made us wait without apology, or eagerness and professionalism to offer us immediate help to solve the hotel's mistake! In October, 2011, my wife and I made a same trip to the Markham location with the same problem, and this time, unfortunately, the same situation happened and the same lousy, impolite, discriminating person was at the front desk. This time I got his name, Hadi, night duty manager, and we were neglected and made waiting without service, again! I happened to know there is another brand new location and I phoned and got the Person in charge there to book us in immediately. The personel's name is Frankie, he happens to be the Auditor on duty that night. We drove to the Warden/Denison Location and were treated professionally and politely, and we stayed for four more nites there because of Frankie's professional and courteous welcome at the new Monte Carlo Inns location.

Room Tip: The front line employees are very important and if he/she happens to be discriminating and thinks be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTravellerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Front Office Manager at Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to express your concerns. At the Monte Carlo Inn, we strive to offer excellent customer service and hope that all our customers are satisfied with their stay. Unfortunately, this concern was not expressed to management at the time therefore we were unable to deal with this matter promptly. However, if you ever need any accommodations with the Monte Carlo Inn Markham hotel again, feel free to give us a call and we will ensure your experience is one that will restore your confidence in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night in this hotel and had a decent stay.

Good parts include: free parking and free wifi in the room. The rooms are also pretty large and clean. Large bathroom is nice.

Negative: very tacky decorAtion both in lobby as well in the rooms and service is quite unfriendly.

All in all, we would not stay here anymore mainly because there are much better alternatives in a 5 km radius for even better value.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limshang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Front Office Manager at Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Thank you for taking your time to express your concerns to the Monte Carlo Inn. At the Monte Carlo, room quality, comfort and customer service is of the utmost importance to us. Guest rooms are inspected prior to guest arrival from a housekeeping supervisor after the rooms been cleaned. The hotel has been recently renovated and upgrades including wallpaper, bed spreads and flat screen TVs. I would recommend in the future if you would like to have our qualified guest service agents offer you a tour of some of our larger upgraded suites at a promotional rate. Please feel free to contact us if you require any accommodations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I almost don't want to tell anyone for fear that it will get too popular. Great place!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get the suite you reserve. They have a few different versions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbagf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Front Office Manager at Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to express your positive feedback. We appreciate your loyalty to the Monte Carlo Inn and welcome you back anytime. Let us know when we may help you in the future and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We booked this through expedia for a King ex NON SMOKING room. The girl on the front desk said that they are sold out and the only thing they had was a king smoking room. I had to change and rush immediately for a business meeting,so i decided to check in. The girl then said that king is not available but a queen smoking was. She kept lying all the time. I went in the room, it was extremly bad and unaccpetable so immeditalely stepped out. The manager said that expedia will refund me. But they lied. They told expedia that we used the room for an hour and will not refund.I have called the hotel many times, but the manager is not will to come and the front desk keeps lying. They charged my credit card twice again and are not giving any explanation. I am right now filing a police complain against them as i have proof that i was in the hotel for lees than 15 mins. Pl PL enever ever go to this place. you will repent and will have a lot of sleep less nights dealing with the credit card charges and unethical behaviour.The manager fights with people and takes advantage of the fact and customers do not go to the extent of fighthing with him to the same level and keeps charging them for the services the customers havent used. If you go here it will be the worst exp of your life!

Room Tip: Never go to monte carlo markham. never ever
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neelam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean M, Front Office Manager at Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
At the Monte Carlo Inn, guest satisfaction and comfort is very important. To ensure that specific room types and guest requests are met, it is always recommended to contact the hotel directly. When booking through certain 3rd party sites like Expedia, the room types are not always guaranteed as they don't always have up to date access to our inventory. Also, when arriving prior to the check in time, we do our best to adhere to all requests however early arrivals are sometimes difficult to accommodate with the specific room type. We value your business and would like to have you stay with us in the future and we will guarantee that your requirements and expectations will be met. We thank you and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

STAY AWAY

Despite booking a non-smoking room I was placed in a smoking room. The entire bottom floor was smoking rooms and the stench and filth was so bad I wouldn't ask my dog to sleep on that floor.

I advised there was no way I could sleep in that environment and they advised me they were sold out for the next few nights and could maybe move me into a non-smoking room later in the week.

Long story short, I had to pay for the night and 'administration fee' to get out of the hotel and quickly found a more reputable hotel in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D M, Manager at Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
At the Monte Carlo Inn Markham, guest satisfaction is key to our success.
We are a very busy and well maintained property. Often there are times when we are down to our last few rooms and because we still accommodate guests who have a preference of a smoking room, we utilise 13 rooms that we have dedicated to our lower level.
It is common for guests who call the hotel, and are refused for a non smoking room due to availability, to take it upon themselved to reserve through various third party sites which, contractually only guarantee the bed type, and that smoking or non smoking are simply requests that we do our best to adhere to. When reserving on our very own reservation site, you will always get the room that you reserved and if not you will be upgraded.
We would love to have you stay with us again, and afford us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our service and product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Markham hotels
2.8 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham
1.1 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Toronto Northeast
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham

Property: Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham
Address: 8900 Woodbine Ave, Markham, Ontario L3R 5K6, Canada (Formerly Monte Carlo Inns Markham)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Markham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monte Carlo Inn - Toronto Markham™ hotel was designed and built to provide guests with the ultimate in luxury, comfort and value. Conveniently situated in the heart of the high-tech capital of Canada and nestled just north of Highway #7, our hotel in Markham, Ontario is close enough to where you need to be, but far enough to make us a welcoming oasis. With three major highways in close proximity and shopping districts, Angus Glen Golf Course, and a host of local restaurants and attractions minutes away, our location and quality will pleasantly surprise you. Because Markham is known as a hub for business activity, our hotel caters to both the business and leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Inns Markham Hotel Markham
Monte Carlo Hotel Markham
Monte Carlo Markham
Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing