We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Toronto Markham
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Markham
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Happy :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great location! Quietly situated behind the busy Hwy 7, this Courtyard hotel was wonderful. The staff was professional, courteous, and friendly. For such a young group of people running the place, this was a delightful surprise.

As you walk in, the first thing that I noticed was that the air ventilation was great; not stuffy, and definitely not stinky, so I was happy. Check-in was quick and smooth, and as Marriott Elite members, we got a great room on the 6th floor in the corner.

The hallways were bright and pretty well maintained, and our room was standard and comfortable. Bathroom was immaculate, and everything was in working order. I'm glad that Courtyard has updated their toiletries to be the Paul Mitchell brand, but now, if they could have a better hairdryer that isn't so loud! Oh, and free water would be nice.

Wi-fi was okay, though in the evening, the speed definitely slowed down, but that's to be expected if there is a high volume of people staying here. They do have computers down in the lobby area for your use, and the speed there is definitely faster. Breakfast is a la carte here, and served 7am-10:30am; dinner is 5pm-7pm, but I never choose to eat at hotels when you have so many choices and options for food nearby! For example, if you love Taiwanese/ Northern Chinese style braised beef noodle soup, check out Mei Nung Noodle in the First Markham Place shopping center. In general, there are a ton of choices at that shopping center.

Before coming here, we used to normally stay at the Mississauga location, but after staying here, we think this will probably be our new haunt! Closer to Downtown Toronto (about 15-20 minutes), and away from the highway noise (the Mississauga one was right next to the 401, and if you weren't careful as to which side of the building you were on, you'd definitely hear traffic noise in the evenings). For just $5 CAD more, it's totally worth it!

Free parking, well lit, good staff, comfortable and clean bed. We were happy! Now, if they'd only give free water for everybody and have a microwave, I'd give this place 5 stars!

Room Tip: 6th floor is pretty quiet, and during the cold months, temperature remains constant. Get a corner ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tycl516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Toronto Markham, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
tycl516,
Thank you for your kind review. We're pleased to have had you stay with us, and we're delighted to know you enjoyed your visit. I'm glad you liked our spacious, clean, and comfortable rooms. It's good to hear you enjoyed our warm, friendly staff as well. Please plan to visit us again soon. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
David Hopper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    96
    39
    9
    9
See reviews for
59
43
10
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Room was spacious, clean and it was all good. Overall for a short and sweet visit it was worth the price. Starbucks downstairs is an asset when you are rushing out in the morning. Parking was free and that was great and we got it right at the entrance. Front staff was great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fourkey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Toronto Markham, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
fourkey2001,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind compliments about our hotel and staff. I'm glad you had a nice visit with us and hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
David Hopper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

For a hotel in the middle of nowhere, it served its purpose. I was attending a conference across the road at the terrible Sheraton, and as a loyal Marriott member, chose the Courtyard instead.

I was kindly upgraded to a Jacuzzi room, which was nearly identical to the one I had in Orlando, but without the balcony and of course the warm sunshine. The a/c and heating unit worked well and I managed to maintain a constant temperature in my large room. Shower strength was excellent and there was a complimentary bottle of water and snack in my room as a Platinum member. One feature I love in Canadian hotels is the blue recycling bin.

I’m not a huge fan of the Bistro concept now introduced at most Courtyards, but it seemed busy on most nights. I did note a Tim Horton’s a short distance away.

I thought some of the staff at the Courtyard were outstanding but others required a little more training.

The hotel seemed to be popular with sports teams and teenagers on the weekend. Luckily, I was on a quiet floor and slept well.

The hotel is a very expensive cab ride to downtown Toronto, and most of the restaurants within walking distance are Chinese, Indian or of the chain variety, but it provided a safe, clean and comfortable haven from the chaos of a conference. A very solid 3 ½ out of 5 stars.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wembleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Toronto Markham, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Wembleygal,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard
Toronto Markham. We're pleased you chose to stay with us while attending your conference. I'm glad you found our rooms clean and comfortable, and I'm glad you enjoyed your complimentary water and snack. Please plan to visit us again soon.
Sincerely,
David Hopper, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

My son's hockey team stayed at this hotel last weekend and we enjoyed our visit. The rooms were spacious and clean. The housekeeping was very quick to respond to your needs. The pool was a little small but the kids enjoyed it none the less. The parents enjoyed lounging in the spacious lobby area without disturbing other guests and hotel staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Toronto Markham, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
TBM2011,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us at Courtyard Toronto Markham. We appreciate having you and your hockey team stay with us. I'm glad to hear that the team had a good time at the pool and the parents enjoyed relaxing in the lobby area. We greatly appreciate your kind consideration for the other guests! We wish for your team a great season and hope to see all of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a family event in Toronto and cousin booked hotel. Great rate. Clean room. Great Starbucks cafe and food. had an issue with loud teens running around and called the front desk; they immediately sent someone up to patrol it.

Room Tip: I made a special request and got rm 431, end of hallway, which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bos2nTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Toronto Markham, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Bos2nTraveler01,

Thank you for your kind review. We're glad your cousin booked with us! It's also great to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our hotel. I hope you had a nice time with your family as well. Please plan to visit us again the next time you're in Toronto. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannington, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is close to 404 and 7 north of the city. great location although there is a lot of road construction going on . The hotel is fresh and has a great lobby the check in was swift and the staff was very friendly.they have wifi everywhere. There is a pool and a hot tub both very nice.They also have a lil gym that is 24 hr.parking is free which makes a nice change. l had a tub room nice and big for 2 lots of hot water was worth the extra.There is a bistro style cafe in the lobby for light snacks and some dinner options it kind of a order at the counter and they bring it to you service was a lil slow think they could have gave the cook a server to help.Food was ok but many other name places within 5 mins of the hotel.Shopping malls and movies are close.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noneck-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Toronto Markham, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
noneck-11,
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to have had you as our guest, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad you liked our hotel as well as our friendly and helpful staff. We hope you'll continue to make us your choice hotel for the Toronto area, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

In Toronto for a few days for work. Hotel is WEST of the airport in an industrial area of town. Freeway's under heavy heavy construction around airport and city. Best option is to obtain rental car provided GPS to help you navigate through the detours (and there will be plenty!). Hotel sits near freeway so good quick location. Now for the hotel. Standard Marriott Courtyard but with FANTASTIC beds. Pillow tops best I have slept on. Hotel floors in halls could use new carpet but the bar and amenities in lobby are good. Great business stay hotel. Remember, get your GPS to help you navigate this very difficult city to get around in.

Room Tip: Higher floors seem to be a bit more quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayJay1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard Toronto Markham, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
JayJay1011,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at Courtyard Toronto Markham. We're glad you chose to stay with us and liked our hotel. It's great to hear we have the best beds you've ever slept on too! Your recommendations for other viewers will be very helpful with regards to using a GPS. We appreciate your compliments and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Markham hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Markham
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Toronto Northeast/Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Toronto
2.4 mi away
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Toronto Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Toronto Markham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Toronto Markham

Property: Courtyard Toronto Markham
Address: 65 Minthorn Blvd, Markham, Ontario L3T 7Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Markham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Toronto Markham 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Toronto Markham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Toronto Markham Hotel Markham
Courtyard Markham
Markham Courtyard
Courtyard Toronto Markham Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing