We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay farm”
Review of Whittamore's Farm

Whittamore's Farm
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Markham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Okay farm”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

not too many rides for the kids... but the home made pies were amazing. Food inside is quite expensive and limited. Bring your own food but must try the pies.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    83
    23
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It's average”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Pick-You-Own:
We had only done strawberry picking. I'd say it's a good experience for young children. The price is not bad ($2.00/lb) for fresh strawberries. They are so sweet and red from inside out (unlike grocery store quality). We don't make pies or jams so as soon as we pick them we start munching like crazy as they don't last more than 3 days. Well, it's a good thing isn't it? That means they don't put much "preservatives" in their crops.

Fun Farm:
They recently added the mining thing for kids to experience. Basically you buy a bag of dirt (I believe about $6), dump it in a sifting pan and let the running water wash out the dirt and you'll find "fossils" and stones. Not bad for kids between 5 - 8 I guess. Not worth it for toddlers as all they want to do is playing with the running water.
The new sand toy lot is fun for toddlers as well. Lots of sand toys and a big house for them to play with.
Clippity Clop Corral is a joke. You can't really bounce or do much with the air-blown horses except for sitting on them.
Giant Tree Fort is pretty cool. My husband and I loved it, as well as our 3-yr old. We also liked the Nature Trail and Horse swings that are made of old tires.
The Singing Chicken Show is really cute. They also tell you some things that you may not know about chicken. The jokes are pretty funny and the chicken are cute too.
The farm animals look sad for the amount of space they get, especially that poor cow. They should get rid of that area.
Overall, I think it's ok for adults to pay $7 to get in, but only kids under 2 are free. A family of 3 (our daughter is 3 yrs old) has to pay $21 + tax and the place is small enough to spend 3 hours max seems a bit ridiculous.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best Playgrounds!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We took our daycare children on a field trip to this farm and I have to say that we had a great time.
The staff there named Michelle was amazing.
The farm had only one cow, 3 goats, 2 geese but they had AMAZING playgrounds for children. Each playground structure had it's own personality - the tree house was a hit!!
I highly recommend this farm if your child enjoys playing in the field and trying out different types of play structures.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ZahidaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not always worth the trip”
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Have been a frequent customer of this farm, both U Pick and Retail shop for years. However, as of late, it seems that staff are becoming apathetic in terms of their willingness to aid and assist customers who call in to find out if they carry a particular crop in the U Pick or Retail area. Maybe the business is becoming too big and they don't care if they lose customers. We drive from Whitby and there are other farms in the local area which are still family focussed and care about their customers. Take your chances when you take the drive!

Helpful?
2 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Fairly priced & a wonderful experience.”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We picked raspberries here and the cost was really fair for what you got. It was an awesome experience and one that we haven't had any where else. To be so close to the amenities of the city, but to feel so far away was a wonderful thing. It was a nice change of pace. I would suggest bringing your own container for your pickings, if you can, b/c that will save you $1.00 to not have to purchase a bin.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jmasc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whittamore's Farm also viewed

 

Been to Whittamore's Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing