We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First night fiasco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Markham
Reviewed March 28, 2014

My family and i drove from Ottawa tonight arriving at 930 pm.. While checking in we start to carry our bags in....the door man standing inside watching...we finally notice a cart in the corner after our second trip ( daughter dance competition so lots of cloths/ costumes) it windy and cold out side and when my son goes to grab the cart the doorman takes it and starts loading the bags we already brought inside telling my son it's for him to do! He actually waited in the warmth while we brought the bags in from the windy, cold, wet outside! Wow classy place.
We went down for a late supper and it was descent expensive but descent.
We get back to our room about 11pm exhausted and turned out the lights to find that in the area where the pull out bed is had a glass block wall that led out to the hallway...and no way to block out the lights from the outside hall! It was like daytime in the room where my son had to sleep! Amazing! A frosted glass wall that went directly to a hall! No curtains. I travel alot on business and pleasure, this year alone i've stayed in a minimum of 30 different hotels in eastern Canada and the US and have never seen anything like this ridiculous setup! Basically a frosted window that goes directly to the hall....with no curtains! We ended up getting 2 blankets to but over the glass from the inside so he (son) could at least try to get some sleep. If this was not for my daughters dance competition and the entire team was not staying here i would have already been at the nearest Marriot! The maintenance guy who brought the blankets was sorry...not his fault...and he said he would try to fix something from the hall side later tonight and would have the missing curtains put back up in the morning.
One last item...the main bedroom with 2 double beds....to close those curtains you have to actually climb over the one bed as there is no room between the corner of the bed and them wall to get by...another nice feature.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haley W, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Monty,

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay with our hotel. We are very sorry that the guestroom did not meet your family's expectations, since the comfort and safetly of our guests is our highest priority. We have shared your comments with our facilities team so they are aware of the situation and may work to improve our guests comfort moving forward. We hope you'll give us another try the next time your travels bring you to the area so we may better demostrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Thank you,

Haley Weeden
Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 924 of 960 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

Hotel is ok, big rooms (although cold, even with heating on full) good shower, food in restuarant was nice, gift shop being refitted so no ATM/Snacks etc. However, it annoys me that hotels allow wifi access for free to non-residents sitting in the lobby, but spend $200 on a room and the wifi is extra (and the "free" wired connection is very hard to set up and keep connected to). Also, in the room I was in, the wifi single was weak, and only worked in a couple of places.... Minor issue, but it annoys me, so next trip to Toronto I'll be staying elsewhere....

Room Tip: One where the wifi can reach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnMcGiffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Overall my visit to the Hilton Conference in Markham was very good. I was happy with the executive floor service and will certainly return. The staff overall were friendly but I found the lounge service to be average only. The bartenders often fell in the weeds during 4- 7pm as the afterwork crowd started to filter into the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Shella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

With so many hotels seeking excellence beyond the average, this was an ok stay. The clothing drawers in the room wouldn't close and kept drifting open, both tv's had fuzzy pictures and you have to pay for internet, $12/day. I guess I've been spoiled lately in my other stays.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank markwcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We have stayed here a few times, it's a very nice hotel, rooms are clean and quiet, food is great but next time we have our conference in Markham we will probably stay elsewhere
Just did not sleep well air was very very dry rooms where hard to make cool and the sheets were rough. We are not fussy usually, we just don't sleep well here

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0rbis25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Excellent hotel, very comfortable, great service and well located. Very nice breakfast buffet. Room very quiet and comfortable. Overall an excellent place to stay for business. Located in Markham, not very close to downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank belpat21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Z1529FZchristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Markham hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Markham
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham
1.7 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Toronto Markham
Courtyard Toronto Markham
#12 of 16 in Markham
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa

Address: 8500 Warden Ave, Markham, Ontario L6G 1A5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Markham
#5 Business Hotel in Markham
#6 Family Hotel in Markham
Price Range: $114 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Suites Toronto/Markham Conference Centre Hotel Markham
Hilton Hotel Markham
Hilton Markham
Markham Hilton
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing