We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware hotwire bookings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Toronto Northeast
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Markham
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We live an hour outside of Toronto and usually commute in and out, but this was a bitter cold February and, rather than chance the weather getting even worse, I jumped on Hotwire.com for the first time. On Hotwire you don't find out the hotel name until after you book; I was given the Comfort Inn. THEN I read the reviews and was pleasantly pleased. However, upon check-in I was told that ALL Hotwire bookings are smoking rooms. No warning I could see to this effect on the HW website. I pulled out my wallet and begged: 'anything, anything but a smoking room and while you are at it can I buy an upgrade to a king?' We were given a non-smoking, king sized room for - NO EXTRA CHARGE! Yes the hotel is a bit tired, but no worse than any other in this price category and it seems everyone knows it's a great stay for the money because it is usually crowded. Because of the nature of our visit breakfast had to be early, but it was still easy to see how, with the tiny and poorly laid-out breakfast room, 8-9 am could be sheer chaos. That said, at 6am you get a good, hearty, reasonably peaceful breakfast. BONUS - have dinner at the Chinese Buffet across the street - pricey but unlike any other Chinese buffet you've had in Toronto and well worth it. Our room was comfy, quiet, clean and everything worked - overall, you could do a lot worse. For the price and kind service, I'd stay again.

Room Tip: There is handicap parking near the front door. On a bitter cold winter night, if you are eligible, c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suremarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 229 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

A wee bit worse for wear, but a fantastic breakfast and nice employees make this a fine stop. Beds are fine. Pillos are great. TV worked and there were plenty of chanels. The shower was nice. For the price we paid, we would come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathip03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Booked one night to celebrate Valentine's Day. We are non-smokers but got booked in a smoking room which thankfully was changed though check-in person was not at all welcoming. Hot tub and shower area in pool area were not working. Holes in the rubber liner of the curtains in room made them look moth-eaten, bedspreads were patched and there was a small hole in one of the walls. "Cold water" in tub shower = "hot water" and vice-versa and toilet did not flush well. Small, crowded breakfast area. My husband and I travel a lot and this was by far the worst hotel we've stayed at in years.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmCN278, General Manager at Comfort Inn Toronto Northeast, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. I do apologize for the deficiencies you noted with your experience at the hotel. We are in the process of changing all our bedding and drapes in all rooms. We do hope that you allow us another opportunity to regain your trust. Hope to see you return.

Regards,
Nick Udayakumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

My family and I enjoyed a 1 night stay and got to enjoy the pool and Hot Tub. The hotel was very accomodating. The breakfast area is small but we made due.

We would certainly go back and enjoy sometime at this hotel!!

Room Tip: Ground floor room are good, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob_dufour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Escaping an ice storm in Toronto by fleeing to Markham. Conveniently close to the intersection of Hwys 404 and (toll) 407. Reception by Nathan, the manager, was prompt and efficient. Room was nothing exceptional, but had everything you'd expect: large screen TV, fridge, and microwave. Room billed as non smoking, but detected cigarette smoke smell when we entered the room. Smokey smell in the bathroom. Double bed was comfortable, but felt a slight tilt toward the middle. Price includes breakfast - yoghurt, boiled eggs, muffins, croissants, bread, cereals, coffee, etc. Pet friendly. We were able to book online. Offered a $10 discount for the "ice storm rate". Recommended if you want basic accommodation.

Room Tip: Stayed on the first floor. If you have a pet, it makes it convenient to take your pet outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retired-Cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Very nice hotel. We have stayed here a couple of times in the past year. Very clean rooms, friendly staff. The pool, hot tub and sauna are very clean. The staff are accommodating to the needs of their guests. Very large variety of food offered for breakfast and if something is low or out a staff member is right there to replenish as needed. It is a bit on the outskirts of downtown Toronto, but here the price is right, the parking is free, and you can have drive to door rooms. There is a huge mall with all the stores a short distance away called Markville Mall.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

From the front desk to the breakfast room, all the staff are helpful and friendly. I had left my wallet at the front desk when I checked in. They called our room but we were out (enjoying the pool). They eventually got hold of us and returned it intact. Very thankful. The free breakfast was good and plentiful. Everything was very clean and the beds comfortable. Decor could use some updating but the pool is what sets this property as a top of the line Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: If you are picky about a smoke free room, ask for one that is not directly above a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Echo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Markham hotels
0.9 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn Toronto Markham
0.5 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Toronto-Markham
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Markham
2 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn & Suites Downtown Markham
1.2 mi away
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Toronto Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Toronto Northeast

Address: 8330 Woodbine Ave, Markham, Ontario L3R 2N8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Markham
Price Range: $74 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Toronto Northeast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Toronto Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Toronto Northeast Hotel Markham
Comfort Inn Markham
Markham Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Toronto Northeast Markham, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing