We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Toronto
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Markham
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed in this hotel the end of May beginning of June 2014. The hotel was clean and the room was adequate. We did find the room tight on the sides of the bed (which was a double, not a queen). Having a fridge in the room was helpful along with the few plates and cutlery for snacks.

Breakfast in the morning was standard fare - sausages, scrambled eggs, fruit, waffles, muffins, toast, etc. They did have cold boiled eggs as well. We noticed in the morning they had difficulty keeping up with the crowd of people and the layout of the breakfast area made it difficult for people to move around the food selection. A nice feature was the ability to have a tea or coffee later in the day or night.

Room service - they cleaned the rooms and restocked the shampoo and conditioner every day.

We didn't use the pool or other facilities as we spent our time in downtown Toronto seeing the sights. The location of this hotel is a little way off the highway, in a residential area. Not the easiest to find at first but OK.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smeeta_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_Markham, Manager at Staybridge Suites Toronto, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear smeeta_1,

Thank you leaving your comments regarding your stay with us! We hope that you are able to take advantage of more of our amenities on your next visit to the Toronto area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    98
    29
    10
    12
See reviews for
144
31
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Staybridge suites over the Victoria Holiday weekend. We were very disappointed. When we first arrived and went to check in at the hotel, the person at the customer service desk was not there. He was outside smoking a cigarette. When he came inside, his entire self smelled horrible with the smell of smoke.....meanwhile there were numerous non-smoking signs placed all over the building.
Then they placed us in a room next to the exit where there was constant noise throughout the entire two nights we spent there. The air condition unit was also very noisy and didn't work properly. There was also a very loud noise from an equipment shutting on and off which kept us up for most of our stay. The other issue was that the placed us in a room on the first floor where the huge flood light from out side shined right into the room the entire night, even with the blinds closed, it was difficult to sleep.
We went the person at the front desk after our first night there and asked us to be moved to another room, his response was, he'll see what he could do when his colleague came in and let us know, until now, we never heard from him again.
I had stayed at this hotel prior on a business trip earlier this year on the fourth floor which at that time wasn't so bad, so I decided to give it a second chance. I travel quite frequently to Markham numerous times per year on business, and I will never go back to this hotel. I left even more tired than when I got there. Just an awful visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Toronto, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Kjwl,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I chose this hotel as it is family friendly and was the nearest IHG hotel for me. But I was very disappointed with my stay. The room was very small. It was a studio room and a family of 3 could hardly fit in. The hotel is next to 407 Expressway and the sound proof was not very good. All night we could hear cars and trucks buzzing. We tried to change the room the next day, but could only manage another room with the same problem. So stuck with the same room. The location of the hotel is good. Very close to 407 and 404. Breakfast was decent. Also used the business PC and printer. They did have snacks in the evenings, but we never went that way!! I will not recommend this hotel for light sleepers due to the poor sound proofing. Another disappointing factor was the Wireless internet speed. It was pathetically slow. So slow that we stopped using it. The thermostat was a very old fashioned one, but to my surprise, it was working very well. Overall, I would give 1 out of 5. Stay away if you can .

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel to avoid highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sars82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staybridge_Markham, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Toronto, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Sars82,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments on your recent experience. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you experienced. We appreciate your willingness to share your comments as this allows us to take the first step towards improving our services. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in an effort to provide you the level of service you expect from InterContinental Hotels Group. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at kimberley.portener@ihg.com should you wish to discuss this further.
Thank you again, Kim Portener Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We were in Toronto for a wedding, and booked a 2-Bedroom Suite with this hotel - it was great! When we arrived, our room was not ready yet, but was told to come back around 2PM - so we went to grab lunch, and by the time we came back, a room was available for us. Great front desk service!

Room -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, a small kitchen, living and dining area. One room had a King bed, while the other room had a Queen bed. The room with the King bed had only a shower in the bathroom (not a big deal) whereas the room with the Queen bed had a full size tub. Both rooms had an ironing board, and closet with shelving. Also, the room with the King bed had a small chair and ottoman, while the room with the Queen bed had a desk with office chair. Main area consisted of a table with 4 chairs, an updated kitchen that had a small 2-burner stove, dishwasher, and fridge, microwave. They provided utensils and dishes, dishcloths, coffee. There was a small loveseat (sofabed), and a chair, coffee table, with TV. Each room had a flat screen TV.

Please Note - NO SAFE

Free Wi-Fi
Free Parking
Free Breakfast Buffet - eggs, waffles, cereal, fruit, coffee, juices, breads, sausage, yogurt, etc.
GREAT staff - everyone was SO accommodating and nice. Housekeeping was friendly, the lady setting up the breakfast buffets was also so nice! Front desk always had a smile!

Overall, it was a decent stay! Would come back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenniye5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Booked a two room suite for myself, my husband and our two friends on a business/leisure trip. Great price for such a spacious room. Clean, super comfortable beds and friendly staff. Would most definitely stay here again. A bit noisy due to a children's sports tournament but can't blame the hotel for that.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank hl000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Vermont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Sure, the location may not be ideal for some -- weird residential/commercial neighborhood on the outskirts of Toronto -- but it's a great base from which to "do" the city, particularly if you have business in the 'burbs. Recently renovated rooms are big, comfortable and cozy, excellent service from the friendly staff, very decent buffet breakfast included in the price (free parking, too) and the free dinner (light fare) a huge plus if you're traveling with kids. Pet friendly as well. All of this at an extremely competitive rate. We didn't take advantage of the fact that the rooms come with a fully equipped kitchen, but it would make a longer stay even better value for money. Small but functional gym has a washer/dryer as well. Hotel is located quite close to the highway, but the noise didn't affect us -- could not hear the outside noise at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Ontario
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed one night in one bed king. Very large room. Asked to be away from hwy but could not accommodate as rooms of this type only on that side so the say. I am a light sleeper and wear ear plugs. Was able to get a good sleep on top floor. Only one elevator that seemed old. Breakfast just okay. Was a comfortable stay in large clean room. For the price was good.

Room Tip: Top floor away from hwy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynz001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Markham hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Toronto Markham
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Toronto/Markham
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hilton Toronto / Markham Suites Conference Centre & Spa
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Toronto Markham
Courtyard Toronto Markham
#11 of 15 in Markham
209 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Toronto Northeast/Markham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Toronto

Property: Staybridge Suites Toronto
Address: 355 South Park Rd, Markham, Ontario L3T 7W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Markham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Markham
#6 Business Hotel in Markham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Markham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Toronto 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Markham,the high-tech capital of Canada, Staybridge Suites Toronto Markham is the perfect hotel choice whether staying for 1 night or 30! Our All-Suites hotel offers spacious rooms, the perfect option to spread out and Get Comfortable while away from home! Whether for business or pleasure, our guests can stay connected to work and home with our free wireless high-speed Internet everywhere and free local phone calls! Surrounded by the communities of Markham, Thornhill and Richmond Hill, Staybridge Suites Toronto-Markham is conveniently located to major highways 401, 404, 407, 400 and 7 and in close proximity to many of Canada s top national and international firms including: AMD, CGI, DELL, Motorola, IBM, Apple, State Farm and Magna, to name only a few. Visiting the Markham and north Toronto area for vacation? Well, you have come to the right place! We are closely located to attractions that offer something for everyone including golf at any of the local 12 golf courses including the renowned Angus Glen Golf Course, Canada s Wonderland, Toronto Zoo, Ontario Science Centre, Pacific Mall, Vaughan Mills, Markham Theatre, CN Tower, and Air Canada Centre. We are also surrounded by a wide selection of restaurants, shopping and entertainment theatres and only minutes away from the metropolitan city of Toronto!As of May 22nd, 2012 we will begin our multi-million dollar renovation. With our guest in mind, we will do everything possible to avoid interruptions during your stay. Please be patient as we transform into a “Great Hotel, Guest Love” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Toronto Hotel Markham
Staybridge Suites Markham
Toronto Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites Toronto Markham, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing