We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite place for dim sum”

Ginger & Onion Cuisine
Ranked #43 of 643 Restaurants in Markham
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Uxbridge
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our favourite place for dim sum”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We are regulars here. You get great value, as most of their dishes are considered to be small. If you go too late, you get less of a variety, so during the week, we get there by 11:30 at the latest. If you want something that you don't see on the cart, you can ask them if they'll be bringing it out, and if not, they'll go have it made up for you. Sometimes the food is fresher than other times, but we always leave really full and satisfied. Very few places charge so little, yet leave you feeling completely stuffed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMF0119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
230 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Expected more variety and higher quality”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Based on some of he reviews, I expected more from the restaurant. Very crowded on a Saturday lunchtime, but the queue moved well, and the hustle-and-bustle added to the experience. Food came on regular carts, but it seemed to be the same six or seven items over and over. If you're feeling experimental (full disclosure: I'm Caucasian) just ask or whatever looks good and don't ask what it is. The food is inexpensive enough that you can easily leave what you don't like, without wasting a lot of money. However, after 45 minutes, I was full, and only then did I see plates of Chinese broccoli come around (I had been craving some greens earlier). Highlights included a plate of cold tofu prepared in about 6 different ways (4 of which were surprisingly delicious, as I'm not a huge tofu fan, especially cold tofu), steamed pork dumplings (fresh!), spare ribs that weren't too greasy, shrimp in fried filo, and a spectacular mango pudding (you wouldn't think mango pudding is very difficult, but it put other ones I've had to shame). If you want something particular, just ask (I should have done so with my craving for broccoli - oh well).
So the good: nice variety of food, very authentic (if you're not Chinese), generally tasty food, good prices, and a busy atmosphere (great with a group to try lots).
The bad: same dishes over and over, and I agree with monkey_mouse11's review that I did drink a lot of water when I came home - the food is very MSG-filled.
The verdict, go there for the experience of China without the jet lag, but keep your expectations in check.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KWH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mastic Beach, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best dimsum ever”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The 45 minute wait to be seated was very frustrating but totally worth the wait, the food was absolutely awesome, we had the fried octopus, shrimp wonton, vegetable wonton, mango pudding, 2 different kinds of dumpling and everything was very good. Price was good. Atmosphere was very busy and crowded.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank badboy1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Affordable food, but expect to drink a lot of water because of MSG in the food.”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

A very busy place even on weekdays, don't borther going there on the weekend; it's like a zoo on the weekend. I would like a place where you can enjoy your meal w/out been stress out. Life is already hectic and rushy. The restaurant provides a fair good amount of food when it comes to what you're paying, but don't expect the service to be good, specially one of the waitress/hostess who is tall with long hair. She was so rude and didn't want to serve change our table. The problem was the table that was crooked/tip to one side and you can imagine what could happen to the hot drink and food. She said to me that all the tables are like that and she refuse to do something about it. She didn't think of the consequence if the hot food and drink get spilled into the customer, then they can be sued. If they like to run their business like that, they can keep going the way it is, but for sure I won't go there until the service and all the tables are changed in good condition. I rather pay a little bit more for better service and of course food quality is also important. Good service makes an enjoyable stay when it comes to eating out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank monkey_mouse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Been here a couple of times and the food here is very good and the staff is really helpful as well. They do have Dim Sum and it is really tasty. Located outside of the mall gives ample parking space. However, during the weekend it is packed with people so if you are considering Dim Sum here, be ready to wake up early and beat the rush.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NightOwl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger & Onion Cuisine also viewed

 
Unionville, Markham
 

Been to Ginger & Onion Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing