We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pizza in Coquitlam BC”
Review of Golden Boot Cafe

Golden Boot Cafe
Ranked #8 of 311 Restaurants in Coquitlam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
coquitlam, british columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best pizza in Coquitlam BC”
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Good food and atmosphere- family owned and staffed - open kitchen- big screen is always on for the Lions and Canucks. Small place but worth the wait. People line up for theses fad restaurants around town but I don't even bother. There are so many excellent places right here and this is definitely one. They cook the pizza and the pasta perfectly- the Italian way. Thin crust deliciousness or bountiful pasta with exceptional sauces fill the menu and they often have an osso buco special which is excellent. Friendly and put together very well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tromponya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    30
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Superb Italian Food”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Canelloni and pizza were sampled today. Both excellent. Highly recommend the spicy Ferrari pizza as relatively unique and well worth the price. Service and atmosphere are nice for a local eatery!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Golden Boot-pasta homemade with love!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We are a family of 4 who wanted good Italian food the way nona makes it!! Referred to the Golden Boot by a good friend who has been keeping it a secret and for good reason as it's a small venue tucked away in Coquitlam. Our rent a teenager(international student) wanted pasta as her last dinner in Canada so off we went to try this highly recommended restaurant. We were not disappointed. Our vegetarian was quite happy with the selections available on the menu and the Tortellacci di Modena with tomato basil was good to the last tortellacci! Our other teen had the Gnocci with tomato cream also enjoyed her selection with leftovers. Our selections were the Speghetti al Pesto Genovese and the Tagliatelle Gamberoni with another notch of spice..I love pesto and was not disappointed here. Plenty of food, a very good waitress who recommended we all shared a garden salad to begin and she wasn't wrong as we had some leftovers for a small snack..The Golden Boot has great food, we can taste the love of mingling flavors well here and although we had no room for dessert, you can be sure we will be back.
Note: it's always nice to know there are these great neighbourhood restaurants.. Mahalo Golden Boot..a hui hou (until we meet again).

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MauiMamaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This place is great!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We are pasta lovers and the 'Boot' did not disappoint. Tiny little place, seats maybe 40, off the main streets. Very casual family atmosphere but friendly helpful staff. The kitchen is open and the first thing you see as soon as you walk in, busy but efficient. All pastas made fresh each day. Great toasted focaccia breads with oil / balsamic dipping brought to the table to tease our palates while looking through the menu. Plenty of beer and wines to choose from. Had a small pizza appetizer that they were quite happy to make 50 / 50 so my wife could have what she wanted and I could have mine. Excellent Caesar salad that we split. Obviously pasta dishes for the main, very flavourful. Portions are large so regular size is recommended. No question, if we return to Coquitlam we'll be revisiting the 'Boot'.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Reminded me of being in Italy”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

It is a lovely small restaurant! We had to make a reservation but it was worth it! The food was amazing. Even though it is small, it was busy the entire time we were there including for take out meals also! There was a table of 4 that come every week according to our waitress!

We shared the antipasta plate and it reminded me of being back in Rome! It made me very homesick for Italy.

I will definitely go back as often as I can now that I have found this hidden gem!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jackolatern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Boot Cafe also viewed

Coquitlam, British Columbia
Coquitlam, British Columbia
 
Coquitlam, British Columbia
Coquitlam, British Columbia
 

Been to Golden Boot Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing