We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A well known local gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thomas Haas

Thomas Haas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Vancouver Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A well known local gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Chocolate to die for and a great lunch spot buy a dessert and go and watch the ships in the harbour They also have wonderful cakes made to order. It is always busy so be patient, but well worth the wait.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Newdale_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    67
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You will love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you like great chocolates, fabulous stellar cakes and excellent coffee this is the best spot in North Vancouver - they also have a location on the westside Vancouver. The cafe is very small and often crowded with very few seats, but the product is stellar. If you are from out of town, you might have some trouble finding this place without a car. You could take the seabus over from downtown Vancouver, and then catch a cab from the seabus, it will take about ten minutes. Enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Yummy, yummy, yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Here's a place with out-of-the-way, inconvenient location with terrible parking facilities, but who needs those things on your side when you develop a following the likes of which TH has, eh?! I have truly relished and cherished the hot chocolate, coffee, chocolates, pastries and cookies I've had there on several visits. Need I say more?

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank laylaaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply, The BEST!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

I've known for several years that Thomas Haas makes THE very best chocolates in Vancouver (and probably all of Canada). Last year for the first time we tried one of his Crispy Chocolate Raspberry cakes. The only thing better than his chocolates are his cakes!!! The dictionary definition of delicious and decedant is "Thomas Haas cakes". Last week I was in the North Vancouver restaurant near lunchtime to pick up chocolates for Christmas. I decided to also order a roast beef sandwich, grilled. It was the most delicious sandwich I have ever eaten. The roast beef melted in my mouth. The bread was heavenly. Just the right amount of creamy horseradish and greens. Exceptional!!! I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank westcoastwoodworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great pastries and chocolates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Thomas Haas is the place to treat yourself with fine chocolates and pastries.
If you go to the location in North Vancouver with friends to have a coffee/pastry/chocolate on site, there are good chances you won't be able to find some room to sit. It is a busy and popular place and a very tiny store. In warm and sunny days you can sit outside the store on the little sidewalk just in the parking lot if car bumpers don't bug you.
Great stop anyway to get you load of sweets and pastries to go.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Igal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Haas also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Thomas Haas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing