We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Treasure”
Review of Thomas Haas

Thomas Haas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
bc
2 reviews
“Local Treasure”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

B e s t c h o c o l a t e in the city! Enjoy the sparkle cookies to take home! and look in the drawers.....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank newmommy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    69
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Scary Good”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Thomas is one of Vancouver's greatest natural resources..... everything is perfect from the coffees to the chocolates and everything in between. We just had Thomas supplies the little treats for our wedding and they were a wonderful accent.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EconomistGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent sandwiches”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We like to go here for lunch at least once a month. If you like chocolate then this palce has some of th4e best. We go there for the sandwiches. Gotta love the apple slices and almond slivers in their panini

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dwain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Decadent!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is the original location of Thomas Haas (also one in Kitsilano now). For a decadent fix of chocolate or pastry, check it out! There is a tiny parking lot, and it's much better to park down the street and walk. Bodwell Academy is across the street, so expect the place to be very busy when school gets out.
Options include truffles, pastry, and sandwiches as well as coffee and hot chocolate. Try the Mexican hot chocolate!
Not cheap, and often a good line-up, but worth it for a treat. It is on the Harbourside end of the North Shore Auto mall, by the water : pleasant!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CrystalVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not sure what the the fuss is about.....”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was disappointed when I arrived at what seemed like a store. It was not what we had expected, as I would not call it a restaurant. Very small and awkward seating. There was no seating available when we arrived. Some chairs were outside but very informal and very average setting. The prices were high for chocolate portions. The surrounding walk on the water in the nearby park was great and if you have a dog they have a great area to go off leash near the ocean.

Would not recommend a special trip. There are many fabulous restaurants and bistros in Vancouver and the North Shore.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SW929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Haas also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Thomas Haas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing