We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh dear...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palki Restaurant

Palki Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Palki' is a tradition as old as the sub-continent we call India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. It is a carriage, painstakingly made of wood, and decorated with fine stones, intricate carving and adorned with fresh flowers and garlands. It is a vehicle we take on the most momentous journeys of our lives, the one we call 'Marriage'. The Palki also took Nobles and Kinsmen on important tours across the country. Fine Indian cuisine at Palki Restaurant is a similar process. Carefully chosen spices and herbs come together in numerous delicacies both vegetarian and non-vegetarian dishes. One only needs to look at the Menu to appreciate the versatility of traditions that stir up one's taste buds and leave a lingering taste in one's mouth. Palki has been rated as one of the finest Indian Restaurants in North Vancouver with its unique decor, high-quality dine-in experience, and reliable and tasty take out Indian food delivery service.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Oh dear...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Hard to find a positive; entirely indifferent service, no atmosphere, tasteless (vegetarian) food and over priced for what it is. I don't like to be negative, but this Indian restaurant comes 4th out of 4 that we have tried in North Van so far. I guess its largely a question of taste, as clearly there are other reviewers who like this place - though few appear totally happy with the service I note. Coming from the UK where there is a good curry house in just about every village I may be a bit spoilt, but it wouldn't take much more than a bit of work ethic to improve the service, decor and flavors imho. As a vegetarian, I would recommend trying Mumbai Masala or Indian Fusion in North Van before going to Palki.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MRandHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    39
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, good value, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

I've eaten at Palki many times (in house and take out) and the food is consistently high quality. If you eat in house, the staff are welcoming and entertaining. Naan is always light and fluffy (treat yourself to the spinach stuffed naan), butter chicken, chicken tikka also excellent, as are the lamb dishes. If you want a great deal, hit their brunch buffet on Sundays - $12 and the food is fantastic! They have just renovated the interior of the restaurant which will make it an even more appealing dine-in choice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank NVanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Consistently delicious; servers' attitudes can be spotty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We have both eaten here and ordered for delivery for many years. THe food is consistently wonderful. All is delicious; The Rogan Josh and vegetarian dishes are exceptional. The naan and roti are always light and fresh (even when delivered) and the tandoori spicing,is complex. Delivery service is very prompt, as is the table service; however in the restaurant, some servers are more friendly than others; a few are perfunctory, however one who is often there is exceptional. He always remembers our family of five and seats us at the same round table. And the mango ice cream, along with the dinner dishes, is also exceptional.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank CEA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazinging Delicious and Fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We have been ordering take-out for years and not only has it been consistently good but it has actually gotten better over time! Our latest order was absolutely delicious. Everything was so fresh and tasty and the butter chicken is to die for. The nans were really fluffy and perfectly cooked and there was just the right amount of spice with all of the dishes (we usually ask for mild). Overall, I would strongly recommend this place to anyone who wants great food, great service and great value.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank barb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
249 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Takeout, yes; but not to Toronto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is very good Indian food, with deliciously thick and flavourful gravies. My personal favourite of three excellent dishes was the Rogan Josh. The spicing was complex and combined with a subtly-textured Naan, fresh from the oven provided a fine way to dispel a drizzly evening. The butter chicken and the prawns were also good, but the Rogan Josh is worth using frequent flier points to sample. The restaurant does offer takeout and delivery, but not alas, to Toronto.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palki Restaurant also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Palki Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing