We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sandwiches and stews”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Burgoo

Burgoo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“sandwiches and stews”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Sandwiches and stews and greasy
Had the grilled cheese sandwich that should have been put on a paper towel to absorb he grease first.
I was told that this was a great sandwich---NOT when I was there

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank withmymother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    102
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, disappointing service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My adult son insisted on Burgoo's for our big family dinner during his visit to town, and it was great, with one glaring exception. One of the dishes, the ratatouille, arrived long after the other dishes had been served, at least 25 minutes late. Most of the other diners (we were six) had finished their meals by the time the ratatouille arrived. There was no real explanation for the lateness, just "sorry your dish will be a little late." The person who'd ordered the ratatouille decided not to keep everyone else waiting while she ate, and asked that it be doggy-bagged. When it came time to pay, I suggested to the waitress that the ratatouille should be taken off the bill, but she said "well you got it, right?", pointing to the bag with the ratatouille in it. We had to pay for what turned out to be an unintentional takeout meal (although it definitely affected the tip!).
A disappointing attitude from a restaurant that is generally known for its friendly service as well as its excellent food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel-sore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Comfort Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

One of my favourite restaurants in North Van. Everything I've tried on their menu has been delicious! And it's nice but not "too fancy". Just warm and inviting - very relaxing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelmo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, WA
Level Contributor
432 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“So good we ate here three times in three days!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent a long weekend in Vancouver, at the Pinnacle in North Van. Across the street are a number of nice-looking restaurants. Coming back from downtown after a day of sight-seeing, we liked the looks of Burgoo's menu and decided to give it a try. Are we glad we did! We ended up returning the next night for dinner, and again on Sunday morning for brunch, it was that good.

FOOD: Everything we had was really good, very tasty, large portions, perfectly seasoned. To start, we had the stout & cheddar fondue, and were practically licking the pot clean after we finished dipping all of the bread and fruit. The spinach and Caesar salads were spot-on, the latter with large, crunchy croutons.

For mains, we tried the chicken BLT, mac and cheese and more, Hungarian goulash, and kid's mac and cheese. The goulash was particularly good, with big chunks of beef seasoned in a sweet paprika sauce with veggies and dumplings. It was served in a large ramekin, and I would have normally taken half of it home, but being on vacation, didn't want to deal with leftovers, so I stuffed myself full. So good!

At brunch, we had a basket of amazing cheese and chive biscuits with apple cinnamon butter to start, and the mains we tried were the eggs burgoo and French toast. The eggs burgoo featured the signature burgoo dish (Kentucky stew made with lamb and beef, but originally with other types of game and smaller critters).topped by three scrambled eggs, with a biscuit. Not something I would typically order for breakfast, but I'm glad I did.

The tea service was above average, and my pot was promptly refilled with hot water for a second steeping of the very good (for restaurants) Two Leaves Assam tea.

SERVICE: All three servers were great, although we especially like our dinner servers: the were especially friendly, quick with a suggestion, attentive, and all around cheerful.

DECOR: The tables were all thick wooden slabs, comfortable padded benches and chairs, a large fireplace, and travel posters from around the world to highlight the international flair of the menu--in fact, all of the items are followed by the country/region of origin, with (BUR) indicating homegrown dishes.

LOCATION: A minute away from Lonsdale Quay, and across the street from the Pinnacle at the Pier hotel. Very convenient for us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dunadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great variety of food, great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been to Burgoo twice and each time was amazing. Their soups are delicious and portions are large. The pita and hummus appetizer is so tasty and their corn chowder was the best I'd ever had. the location and interior are perfect and the staff is the friendliest around. You won't be disapponted. The retaurant is very close to the aquabus terminal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LarrysMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgoo also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Burgoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing