We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character, great food - North Van Burgoo is outstanding”
Review of Burgoo

Burgoo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Character, great food - North Van Burgoo is outstanding”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The Burgoo does not take reservations so when we arrived, about 6:30 pm on a Wed, we had a 30 minute wait. Hostess took our cell # and suggested The District restaurant's bar 2 doors up the street [Burgoo's bar seating was full.] Great suggestion - The District has a wide selection of beer, wine and other drinks. 20 minutes later we were called and were seated on arrival. Ambience has old world, "busy pub" character and clients ranged from us to young and "hip." Wife's squash soup starter was delicious, entrees were served quickly - huge, hot and VERY good [ratatouille and Hungarian goulash]. All entrees are "comfort foods." Wine selection (bottle or glass) was good. No room for dessert. A VERY enjoyable experience. We'll be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rickity1-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    107
    25
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Courtenay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Delicious”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This cozy and warm little nook is perfect to share a cheese fondue or some delightful soup. The menu is really aimed towards cheese lovers and the food comes in large portions. They also have a small bar and nice wine selection.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The unrestaurant restaurant”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I've tried to cut down on eating out as much, so when I do it has to be worth while. More often than not I end up at Burgoo. It's fresh, home cooking style hearty delicious meals. Their burgoo biscuits can't be missed and they make the best soups in town.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank VKM2F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Regular fare.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Certainly not outstanding, but edible. A few of the dishes sort of tasted the same. One was quite overdone. Service was so so for the money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chain-user
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Comfort food, oh yeah”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Bad day at work? Strata Council on your case? Significant other being a pain in the nether reason. Well, I have the answer for you pal. Head straight for Burgoo on Lonsdale or Kits (I think they have a couple of other locations, too) and order up one of their positively fantastic stews. Oh the Provencale Ratatouille, the Irish Stew, the Beef Bourguigon, the Goulash, and on and on, each one more delicious than the other. We're talking stews like mama used to make (or would have, had she been able to do more than crack open a can of Dinty Moores.) They serve brunch with salads and sandwiches and stuff, too - but it's the stews, the stews you must, must have - and then, all will be right with your world. Guaranteed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rilla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgoo also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Burgoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing