We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The unrestaurant restaurant”
Review of Burgoo

Burgoo
Ranked #10 of 374 Restaurants in North Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The unrestaurant restaurant”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I've tried to cut down on eating out as much, so when I do it has to be worth while. More often than not I end up at Burgoo. It's fresh, home cooking style hearty delicious meals. Their burgoo biscuits can't be missed and they make the best soups in town.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank VKM2F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    104
    23
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Regular fare.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Certainly not outstanding, but edible. A few of the dishes sort of tasted the same. One was quite overdone. Service was so so for the money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chain-user
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Comfort food, oh yeah”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Bad day at work? Strata Council on your case? Significant other being a pain in the nether reason. Well, I have the answer for you pal. Head straight for Burgoo on Lonsdale or Kits (I think they have a couple of other locations, too) and order up one of their positively fantastic stews. Oh the Provencale Ratatouille, the Irish Stew, the Beef Bourguigon, the Goulash, and on and on, each one more delicious than the other. We're talking stews like mama used to make (or would have, had she been able to do more than crack open a can of Dinty Moores.) They serve brunch with salads and sandwiches and stuff, too - but it's the stews, the stews you must, must have - and then, all will be right with your world. Guaranteed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rilla2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Decent selection of food, convenient to Seabus.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We used to visit here more, but they got rid of the wonderful lentil soup, leaving fewer veg. options. However, they still make good food. Service is decent and prices are reasonable. Just a couple of blocks up from the North Vancouver Seabus terminal.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CrystalVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fondue!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The fondue is spectacular at this place. Liked how the menu has little annotations of the country of origin beside each dish. Good hearty, homey menu items. This place is always busy. The hostess at the North Vancouver location was not the best at her job, as she completely missed our name on the list & opted to 'call my cell phone', instead of stepping outside the door & calling my name. Not impressed

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank cmariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burgoo also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Burgoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing