We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting one of Guy Fieri's Diners, Drive-in & Dives”
Review of Tomahawk Barbeque

Tomahawk Barbeque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Byers, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Visiting one of Guy Fieri's Diners, Drive-in & Dives”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hamburger was great. It was hard to choose which one I wanted but know nothing would have been a wrong choice. The staff was attentive and kept our water glasses full. Loved the history and native art inside. It was neat that the owner was the first person to greet us and was please to know that someone local had recommended the place and that I had seen the Tomahawk on Diners, Drive-ins & Dives.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Iris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    141
    71
    36
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Even as a local, I will admit, this restaurant is "has been"!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Well, well, as a local who has been going to the Tomahawk since 1960 (and even went there on a 'first date ',) I had to laugh at some of the previous reviews! What?! Only average?! We still continue to come to the restaurant, and love it each time, but if I think about it, it's probably a nostalgia thing! In the 60s, there wasn't much of any kind of restaurant in North Vancouver, so this was the happening place! All of our out of town guests were treated here! And we still occasionally take European family here. It is definitely part of our history, and the Yukon breakfast is still a great meal! maybe even a deal! The placemats are a souvenir, and the decor is tine honored! If you want a north van experience, you still have to do this one!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Over-hyped / Not Allergy Friendly”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We tried this restaurant after seeing that it was featured on "Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives". It was definitely unique and kitsch with lots of history and character, but I'm not sure it was worth the long wait (almost a hour) or the potential heart-attack from all the grease.

After being seated, we found out that nothing on the menu was made without dairy of some sort. We finally worked out a meal with the waitress that would work for my allergies (fingers-crossed). The food overall was extremely heavy and greasy, below-average quality, and definitely over priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atkinsonimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candidreviewer4u
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average says it all”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Last time I tried a restaurant based on Guy Fieri's Diner Drive-Ins Show, it was a major, major disappointment. This time, it was just average. The hostess and waitress was great! the food, over-priced and just so so. I had the french dip as recommended by Guy and it was nothing special. $45 for our meal and wished I had not gone.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Candidreviewer4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Give it a miss”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I don't know why this place is rated so high..I'm guessing something is good on the menu. We love burgers so we had burgers and they were really really average and not big portions. No liquor licence either?! Its a shame because it seemed like a nice spot.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank BirdyM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomahawk Barbeque also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Tomahawk Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing