We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had dinner”
Review of Tomahawk Barbeque

Tomahawk Barbeque
Cuisines: American, Diner, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
“Had dinner”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Nice atmosphere, but the tables are a little crowded. Very friendly staff and we enjoyed the way the place is decorated

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dwain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    134
    67
    35
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Breakfast Break”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I don't eat bacon everyday nor do I have breakfast outside of the home more than 2-3 times a month. When I do go out, I enjoy my bacon, sausage and all things not so good for you. I enjoy smaller diners as to the usual chain restaurants around town, there is more of a personality and charm in these places.
That said, the Tomahawk does have a personality! Weekends are crazy, so I do manage to go there on a weekday to escape the lineups. The portions are a good size and the bacon is not the regular run of the mill, you have to try it. I usually have the Yukon breakfast and that fills me up quite fine. Stay awhile and have a few cups of coffee along the way, its way better than sitting in a coffee shop. Its more of an institution in North Vancouver, my goto breakfast joint in the hood.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NomadOU812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tomahawk slipping”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Quality has dropped a lot...food is not as tasty as it used to be, not is is as reasonable. The wait to get in on the weekends is not worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Met Expectations”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Tomahawk BBQ is one of those iconic places that you have to visit to appreciate.

Pleasant surroundings, but nothing fancy. It is a BBQ after all.

It has been there for a long time. Many restaurants come and go. The reasons for the TOmahawk's success are; good service, great food, and a pleasant atmosphere. These qualities have kept people coming back again and again.

I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilmotValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It is unique...but disorganized”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Had breakfast... Husband had the Yukon (11.95). He liked their bacon. 2 eggs, bacon, hash browns, toast. Quick food service. I had a tasty egg white omelet with mushroom, cheese and spinach. The cons .... Hanging around the foyer waiting to see if someone will seat you, jam ( Kraft) ...they coul do better, weird creamers for the coffee (not real, some chemically stuff)

Helpful?
Thank starrylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomahawk Barbeque also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 
North Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Tomahawk Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing