We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, nice meal”

The Observatory at Grouse Mountain
Reserve with OpenTable
The Observatory at Grouse Mountain is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 378 Restaurants in North Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: Take bus 236 from Lonsdale Quay. It will bring you to the base of the Skyride.
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great view, nice meal”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

It goes without saying this restaurant obviously has a great view. The gondola trip to the top is free with a restaurant reservation, so it's worth going a bit early to see the grizzly enclosure etc.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank FlickaLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    92
    39
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Surpassed Expectations”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We visited The Observatory for dinner on the summer solstice - to watch the sunset from an amazing location. As a touristy location I had expected that dinner would be a good effort but would miss the mark. I was wrong.

The trip up on the gondola was fantastic. The views incredible. The main part of the facility is what you'd expect from a ski resort - a bit "cabin-like". The restaurant ambiance was nice but not over the top. Our table, however, was right out at the edge of the room with amazing views of Vancouver and the sunset.

The food was exceptional. Well prepared, beautifully plated, and portions sufficient to satisfy. Pricing is as you would expect but when you consider that you don't pay for the gondola ride up (versus the $40 if you were simply coming up for the view) it's a deal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YXUtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great view.”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Service was excellent. The food very nice and reasonably priced. Getting a table with a view made the experience complete, and value was good because of it. Had a wonderful time and is a memory that will stay will me for a long time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MysticManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Surprise ”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I was in Van-groovy on business and spent the last day being a tourist with a colleague. Went up Grouse mountain and was horrified to realize we needed dinner and expected classical North American 'you're trapped cuisine'.
The fact that Observatory had a world class view of the city made me skeptical of both the fare and the prices - however no need to worry on either count. The mains were well priced and the flavour and execution were spot on.
No issue with the service either but when you establish your credentials with a 'Grey Goose Martini straight up with Olives and and a glass of ice water with ice' you command respect of even the most under tipped yokel weary server. Being from Toronto (center of the Canadian Universe) I was impressed that such a location could pull off great food at a great price.
Read some reviews after and realized that you probably get a lot of the Days Inn crowd and that probably skews the results( tiny portions!! so pricey!! service not as good as Red Lobster), so thought I would even the score.



Helpful?
1 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“View”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

One of our favorite restaurants as a couple. We have taken the kids but felt bad about that with all the romantic declarations going on. If you go you should be prepared to respect that other people are trying to propose next to you.

Service in the restaurant is good. Only negative is the way they handle reservations which can be a bit unprofessional. Sometimes they make you wait at the "reception" for no obvious reason and when they clearly have free tables inside.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank F C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Observatory at Grouse Mountain also viewed

North Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
North Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Observatory at Grouse Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing